Today I realized

Today I realized just how out of shape I am.

I think I mentioned this way back when, but me and my Dad are having a race Thanksgiving morning.  We’re having our own kind of Turkey Trot.  My father once made the comment that he could beat me running, so being the betting kind of gal I took him up on the challenge.  Back then I was exercising regularly.  I started the C25k program and am on week 2.  I’m not going to finish it by Thanksgiving, but at least I’m starting.  I won’t be able to hold my head up if my 59 year old father beats me in a 3 mile run. Confused smile

So today I’m giving myself a challenge.

For the next 30 days I will exercise at the minimum 30 mins, but will be trying for 60.

I also started the 30 day Shred DVD… which brings me to how outta shape I am.

I couldn’t finish a 20 minute workout DVD.  20 minutes people!  I was dying after the first circuit.  There’s only 3.

I’m not going to let it get me down though.  I’m going to add it to my challenge.  I’m going to take it one circuit at a time.  I’m not going to move onto the next circuit until I can complete it without taking any breaks.  Small steps people, small steps.

This morning I hopped on the treadmill and did the the C25k.  At this point your only doing 20 minutes of jogging/walking, but since I was catching up on my DVR recordings…. Real Housewives of Atlanta anyone… I stayed on the treadmill 45 minutes.  I then completed 13 minutes of the 30 Day Shred.  63 minutes of exercise.  Even though I was upset about how out of shape I am, I also feel good for getting my workout in.

For breakfast today I went back to what I knew… a Green Monster. 

food 026

It’s been so long since I had one of these.  I love getting a couple servings of veggies and fruit first thing in the morning.  I don’t know why I stopped drinking these.  They are sooo good.

For my morning snack I had Amande yogurt which is almond milk yogurt and some coconut granola.

food 027

This is my all time favorite yogurt.  I love it more than Greek yogurt.

And for lunch a big ol’ salad.  It’s time to start getting veggies back in my diet. 

food 028

It wasn’t that I wasn’t eating veggies… I was it just seemed like they weren’t the staple in my diet that they should have been. 

Today turned out to be a pretty productive day.  Though I would’ve liked to sit in front of the TV like I have been doing… I feel so much better about myself when I get things done around the house.

I hope everyone else is enjoying their Wednesday.

9 Responses to “Today I realized”

  1. Lori Says:

    Looks like a very productive day! You’re moving in the right direction.
    You’ve got me motivated!

    • kristisn Says:

      It’s all about getting that start. I can gfind a million excuses not to do the things that I need to do, but I need to stop making the excuses. I haven’t felt good in a while. It’s time to feel good again.

  2. IHeartVegetables Says:

    jillian IS tough, even though the workouts are short! Hang in there! I’m sure you’ll be back in shape in no time :)

  3. Laura Says:

    Hey you’re back! That’s awesome! I’m sorry it’s not under better circumstances (I read your previous post too)… but life, health, weight, etc. is a journey right?! You’ll get to where you want to be as soon as you want to be there :-) So I am in California right now and just tried that Amande yogurt for the first time… I didn’t love it. I think I prefer the So Delicious Coconut Milk yogurt, but maybe I just need to try another flavor?!

  4. Alissa Says:

    Great job on the 45 minute workout!! You rock!! BTW, I am hosting a Thanksgiving Day 5k– come check it out if you haven’t already. :) http://ajourneytothin.blogspot.com/2011/11/2nd-annual-thankful-healthy-blogger-5k.html

  5. krisgetshealthy Says:

    How is eating with your eyes first going?

  6. krisgetshealthy Says:

    How did thanksgiving go? Did you do your walk/run?

  7. Lori Says:

    Just checking in…it’s been a while. I hope you’re still around.

  8. Lori Says:

    Checking in again – I hope you’re alright!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

