Running in place

Well, I finally got a good night’s sleep last night.  Woohooo!  I slept the whole night without waking up, which is a good thing.  I haven’t been sleeping through the night lately and my energy level has been way down.  I woke up at 0700 and went right to my 30 day shred dvd.  Well, that’s after putting the heat on.  I looked at the Thermostat and it read 58 degrees!  Brrrr!  I was so glad to get my exercise in first thing this morning.  I think that it always makes me more productive when I start my day off right.  For breakfast I made some potato, apple, and onion hash.  I cooked it up with 1/4 cup Egg Beaters and felt content for the morning.

A nice hearty breakfast for a cold morning

For snack I had some of my homemade applesauce.

I got a lot done around the house, and felt like it didn’t look like a hurricane went through my living room anymore.  I crossed a few things off of my to do list, and was feeling good this afternoon.

For lunch I was planning on having a salad with some grilled chicken, apple, glazed walnuts, and balsamic vinegar, but when I cut into the apple it wasn’t as crisp as I wanted it to be.  I have issues with apples.  I can not eat them if they are mealy.  I need them to be nice and crisp, so I put the cut apple aside and figured that I’m going to have to cook with the rest of them.  It didn’t ruin my salad though, I just switched the apples for tomatoes.  It was a great salad and the glazed walnuts added just the right sweetness to it.

I love salads!

The rest of the day was spent getting ready to go to my nephew’s second birthday party.  He is the cutest little boy if I do say so myself.  I didn’t get any pictures…sorry!  Dinner there was some veggie lasagna, salad, and bread.  We also had pumpkin cupcakes.  It was quite the filling meal. 

My snacks for the rest of the night consist of a cup o’ grapes, carrots with 1 tbs Green Goddess dressing, and a Slim Fast.  I have already ate my three meals for the day, and have a while that I’ll still be up, so I sometimes drink a Slim Fast to keep me satisfied.

I just wanted to say that sometimes I feel like I’m running in place on this journey.  It feels like no matter what I do, I just can’t get it right.  My 30th birthday party is little over a month away.  I had big plans for myself.  I wanted a cute little dress.  I wanted to shed some of this weight.  I wanted to be a little more confident in myself.  I don’t think I’ll be there.  I feel like I have failed myself.  I feel discouraged.  I guess this is one of those down moments… we all have them right?  Ok, so here is what I want to do. 

Here are my November Goals:

1) Journal everything I eat, that extra latte, that fun sized candy bar.  If it crosses my lips I’ll write it down.  I’ll calculate the calories.

2) Exercise, exercise, exercise

3) Limit alcohol… I would like to say that I won’t drink any, but I know that I would be lying to myself.

4) Don’t get down on myself… life happens, stay motivated.

5) Remember that even if it feels like I’m running in place, I will get to where I want to be.  It’ll take time.

Thanks for listening to my rambling.  It’s just been one of those days.  I feel like I know what I have to do.  I know what I need to do, but something just doesn’t feel right with what I’m doing.  I’ll figure it out…

11 Responses to “Running in place”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Just remember that you can make a lot of progess in a month….regular exercise and eating well until then can make a huge difference in how you feel that night!

    • kristisn Says:

      Thanks for the encouragement! I know that I still have time, and that I can still make positive changes. It’s just keeping the positive attitude and not letting the frustration take over.

  2. Di @ http://thetreadmilldiaries.com/ Says:

    We all have those moments where we feel down or question our progress. My advice is to keep on doing all the great stuff you’re doing. Good habits over time WILL lead to results. Eventually, you’ll feel better about just living a healthier lifestyle and as you hit your goals you’ll feel phenomenal.

    Do what you can by your birthday without putting too much stress on yourself with the date. I’ve found that when I ease a bit of the pressure and timetables off myself… I do better. You can do this. And if it takes a bit more time it’s still worth. You’re worth it. Good luck!

  3. runningaroundnormal Says:

    58 degrees!? Yikes!
    I hate a mealy apple too – bleh!

    • kristisn Says:

      Right?! I couldn’t believe it was 58 degrees in my house. My poor daughter!
      Mealy apples are the worst. I’ll be so looking for to eating an apple and when I find out it’s mealy it ruins my meal sometimes.

  4. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com Says:

    most salads i make are pretty boring. mmm looking at yours makes me so hungry for one- but i want YOURS ❤ nom nom nom 😛 mmm and especially if i can have a pumpkin cupcake for dessert too!!! ❤

    • kristisn Says:

      I love salads, but only if they have a bunch of great things on them! I ❤ a loaded salad. The pumpkin cupcakes were so good! My mom made them, and she's a great baker.

  5. Kelly Says:

    Hi Kristisn, thanks for the comment on my blog. I get impatient on this journey too, but I know in my head that because it took a while to put on this weight, it’s going to take me a while to lose it as well. Losing 20 pounds in 3 weeks is not healthy or reasonable or realistic. Slow & steady will give you progress. Good luck!

    • kristisn Says:

      I try to tell myself that all the time. Slow and steady. I would love the pounds to just melt off over night, but your right, they didn’t appear over night. It’s going to be a journey, and though I might throw hissy fits now and then 🙂 I’m in it for however long it takes. Thanks for your comment!

  6. krisgetshealthy Says:

    I love your Goal list!

    I am a huge fan of bite it and write it! aka food journaling. I have been keeping a food log for over a year now and I personally feel it has really helped keep me accountable for what goes into my mouth.
    I found in the beginning that it was better for me to write things down before I put them in my mouth. So if I was going to make a bag of popcorn, I wrote down 100-calorie bag smartpop popcorn, and then ate it. It is REALLY easy to forget you ate something. NO SNACKING while you are preppring meals. Chewing gum helps with this. When Making a salad, write it in your book, measure that stuff out, (I have a food scale, so if I am putting nuts or cheese on my salad, I measure that first, so If I am going to pick while I cook, I am picking at my final product)

    Remember exercise is anything that you DO. Let me see you GROOVE! Chores count! Extra stairs, parking further away than normal at the store these are all easy extras!

    Alcohol really is the devils juice, Not in any way other than It is empty calories. If you limit yourself to one or two lower cal drinks and calculate them into your count then you are on the right track, but remember it is just carbs/sugar.

    Absolutely stay positive and dont give up! We all live in the real world, things happen! People drop in and you order Pizza, you go out to dinner with co-workers and there arent the best choices. You just roll with it. Don’t throw away a whole day or weeks worth of work because of a few bumps in the road.
    You can do this!!!! You will do this!!

    By the way Hi again! We met briefly at the PFG thing I’m Kris, hope you don’t mind I just jumped right into your blog 🙂

    • kristisn Says:

      Hi! I remember you from the PFG get together. Thanks for checking out my blog!
      All your ideas are great! I am an avid food measurer 🙂 I measure everything out, and am in love with my food scale. It really does help with portion control, because if it was up to me my portions would be a lot bigger than the measuring cup! I usually write down my food for the day usually the night before, or the morning of, but I found that I would pop a piece of Halloween candy or drink a latte and not write it or add that to my daily calories. That’s why I had to get out my little food journal, and I’m going to carry it with me every where so there is no reason why I can’t write whatever I eat.
      Alcohol…. ohhhh… that’s so hard. I love it all. Beer, wine, cocktails, but I’m going to try hard and limit my alcohol intake, at least for now.
      I’m learning everyday though, and am getting some great advice and encouragement through my blog. I’m so glad that I started blogging.
      You can jump into my blog anytime! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

