Apples, apples, apples

So after the pity party I had for myself yesterday I woke up feeling recharged.  I had the best sleep.  Don’t you love when you wake up knowing you had a sound sleep.  I got up and headed down to do my 30 day shred dvd.  I put a little more umph to it, then when I did Level 2 the first day and ended up burning 287 calories.  Woot Woot!  I had the same breakfast that I had yesterday… 1/4 cup Egg Beater over top of the apple, potato, onion hash. 

I also got out…

My brand new food journal!

I had ordered this journal from Amazon a few weeks ago, but hadn’t used it.  Why? I have no idea.  I was saving it for when I really needed it?  And after yesterday, I needed it.  It’s great on keeping calculations on all my eats, and I’m going to carry it wherever I go.  I already have some of my eats for tomorrow logged in!

For snack I had Applesauce… only one more day and it will be gone.  😦

For lunch I had 3 oz of  chicken, some sweet potato fries, and a salad with 1 tbs Ginger Sesame dressing.  It was a very filling lunch!

Ohhhh soo good...

I also had a tbs of Honey Mustard sauce for dipping.  I’m a dipper.  I love sauces and can hardly eat anything plain.  I need that extra flavor.   I need to stay fueled for my workout at the gym.  I’m finally back.  It seems like I haven’t been to the gym- gym in a few days, which is probable because I haven’t been.  After working out for an hour and burning 727 calories, you know I’ll be going back for more.  I love at the end of the workout seeing all my calories burned.  I used to check while I was working out, but keep it as a surprise at the end of my workout.  That also brings my total calories burned for the day to…..1014!  I know…. isn’t it amazing!

For dinner I’m going with my chicken apple chili, and for dessert the leftover apple crisp that I snagged from my mom’s house the other day.  Apples, apples, apples… hahaha.  Well, they say an apple a day keeps the dr away, so I should be fine for a really long time.  I also decided that I need to start making smaller batches of food when I cook, so I’m not eating the same thing for a week.  I would love to be able to experiment more, but always feel like I’m trying to finish up something I already cooked.  So after I get through my fridge full of leftovers I’m going to see how cooking more goes.

Well, I guess that’s it. 

What do everyone else do with leftovers?  Freeze them, eat them, throw them away?   Sometimes having a fridge full of leftovers stresses me out because I don’t want anything to go to waste!

8 Responses to “Apples, apples, apples”

  1. krisgetshealthy Says:

    I freeze off my leftovers into individual portions. That way when I need a quick go to meal I have something ready. I get really bored of eating the same thing more than a day or two in a one week span. I also work to find recipies that I can turn into something else.
    Cook once, eat twice sort of deals 🙂

    • kristisn Says:

      Thanks for the ideas. I might have to do that cook once and then make it into a different meal or two. I just feel like I’m eating the same thing for a week and it gets kind of boring. If I do find a recipe I want to make I have to wait because I have so many things I need to finish up.

  2. Di @ http://thetreadmilldiaries.com/ Says:

    I try to make my meals for 4 so my hubby can eat it that night and then have it for leftovers during the week. I prefer a hot lunch to a cold sandwich or salad so it works out.

    Nice job with grabbing the food journal – I log everything I eat and it helps.

    • kristisn Says:

      Thanks! I had that food journal sitting on my table for about a month. Not sure why I didn’t use it when I got it, but I’m loving it. Especially since I can keep track of fat and sugars, besides just calories.
      I prefer hot lunches most of the time, too. I do like a good salad though.

  3. lauravirginia Says:

    I log everything I eat, too. At first I was shocked by the number of calories I was eating. Counting really makes you stop and think before you eat that cupcake! I am not a leftovers fan, so I usually try to either make a small portion or share with my roommate or boyfriend. I won’t lie, sometimes I ended up trashing them.

    • kristisn Says:

      I would keep track of calories when I planned my menus, but if I ate something extra I would account for it. Carrying this book around makes me account for everything.
      I think I’m going to go with making smaller portions and see how that works.

  4. Sabrina Says:

    I log everything that crosses my lips! I do it at http://www.myfitnesspal.com
    Just easier for me since I am on the computer all day! It is super user friendly and everyone I am “friends” with is really supportive! I would recommend it to anyone!! If you decide to join, you can go to “community” and “find memebers” — search for me, user name: SabrinaM85

    I try not to have leftovers more than a few days. If I make a big meal, I will save what I can for dinner a few nights later and just put all leftovers in the fridge on the table. Otherwise, I normally eat it the next day for lunch. But I am picky about food, so I never keep it for too long!

    Oh— And I am glad you got a great nights sleep. Waking up feeling so recharged is the best!!

    • kristisn Says:

      Thanks for the link to myfitnesspal. I think I might have heard of that before, but have never tried it. Having supportive friend always help. I’ve got a lot of support since I started this blog and it’s so nice. When your having a down day there’s always someone to make you look at the positive!
      I love a good nights sleep! I don’t get it that often cause my sleep schedule is so off, due to my job. So the days I do have good sleep makes for a great day!


Leave a Reply

