12 hours of sleep… yes please

Well, last night my weekend of fun finally caught up with me.  Around 6:30 I was straining to keep my eyes open (I’m sure the wine helped a little, too) and with Justine not feeling bed I knew that we could have an early night.  I was in bed my 7:00, asleep by 7:05.  I never get to sleep for 12 hours, I try to get 8 a night.  This morning I woke though and couldn’t believe I had slept the whole night.  I guess it was what my body needed, and I was happy to give it.

For breakfast this morning I got to try the Maple Apple Cinnamon Pancakes I made yesterday from a recipe I got out of my Skinny Bitch cookbook.

Coffee and pancakes= good start to the day

Each pancake has 110 calories, and 1/4 cup of the apple maple sauce has 60 calories.  I must say at first bite, I wasn’t sure if I liked them.  The pancakes were a little… dense.  That might be a good word.  I think tomorrow I’m going to try to heat them up a little longer.  Does anyone else feel like pancakes just don’t stay hot long enough when you heat them up?  Then the second bite was a little better, and well I ended up cleaning my plate.  They were pretty tasty after eating the first bite.  Maybe I just didn’t know what to expect, and that’s why the first bite was questionable.  This recipe gets two thumbs up from me.  The pancakes weren’t made with any eggs, and not a lot of sugar.  I can’t wait to try another recipe in this book.

After dropping Justine off at school I drove to Target to meet my grandmother to do a little Christmas shopping.  I have to say Justine is going to be so excited when she sees what my grandparent’s got her.  I have to admit I’m a little excited, too 🙂  After Target we went over to Panera for a little coffee break.  I got a Chai Tea Latte with skim milk.

It kept me company on the drive home

So can I just tell  you… on the menu board at Panera this latte said it had 200 calories.  I thought that was ok, and felt good about just ordering that and not anything to eat.  Those bagels were calling my name.  So when I get home I go to the Panera Website and put it the drink with skim milk and it said it was 270 calories!  It was showing the Chai Tea as 200 calories and with the skim milk it brought it to 270.  I was a little disappointed, but at least I know next time.

For lunch I decided to try a frozen meal I had purchased, mostly because I had a coupon for it.  I try not to buy too many frozen meals, but every once in a while I will, and sometimes I’m glad because it is easy.  Today, I tried Stouffer’s Corner Bistro soup and sandwich. 

Tomato bisque soup with three cheese and ham melt

The soup and sandwich had 380 calories. 

The verdict… It wasn’t bad.  The cute little triangle melts were easy to dip into the soup.  It was pretty filling, too. 

I had to drive to my campus today which is an hour each way.  I knew I was going to be there for an hour or two so I decided to take a slim fast with me, just to tide me over while I was in the car.  I also had a banana for a snack.  For dinner I’m having leftovers from last night, 4 oz chicken, sweet potato fries, and some acorn squash and tomatoes.  I don’t think I talked about the acorn squash enough in my last post.  This was my first time eating it, and I think it will be my new obsession.  It was so good.  All I did was use a little olive oil, salt, pepper, and minced garlic, mixed it all around and then threw it in the oven for 20 minutes.  Yum! I can’t wait to get to the store, so I can get another one.  So delish! 

For my dessert…

Peanut Choco Drizzle Crispy Rice Bar

How does everyone else feel about acorn squash?  Any good recipes or different ways for me to cook it?

12 Responses to “12 hours of sleep… yes please”

  1. krisgetshealthy Says:

    Those coffee/tea/chai/fancy drinks on the go are dangerous! depending on how heavy handed the person pouring the milk is they can have a ton more calories than you think! I splurged mysef today and got myself a Nonfat Pumpkin Spice Latte-no Whip at Starbucks. Well worth the 200 or so calories I got from it since it will be going away soon.

    I have never had acorn squash, I think I may have to try it 🙂 If i can find some

    • kristisn Says:

      Yea, I try to stay away from the fancy drinks, just because of the calories, but every once in a while I’ll break down. I do try to go for the least amount of calorie ones.
      You should def try the acorn squash. I was so impressed with it.

  2. Di @ http://thetreadmilldiaries.com/ Says:

    Congrats on getting in so much rest. You’re right – your body probably needed it.

  3. Tabitha - Just Weighing In Says:

    I wish I had a good recipe for you… I have an acorn squash sitting upstairs right now that I don’t know what to do with. 🙂

  4. OliePants Says:

    Rest like that is magical!

  5. Her Says:

    I’ve been working up the courage to try more frozen entrees; glad to hear those ones are good. so much sleep! so good for you

    • kristisn Says:

      I usually buy frozen meals when I have coupons. I try not to eat them too often, but on busy days they come in handy. I liked the idea of a soup and sandwich.

  6. Kat Says:

    A. Pancakes are NEVER warm enough – good to know that those ones from Skinny Bitch were good – I need to try some of those recipes!

    B. I try to save fancy coffee drinks for extreme treat situations, but Lord knows a splurge is necessary from time to time 🙂

    C. I halve acorn squashes and then roast them for an hour. One half ends up w/ brown sugar and the other half involves cheese.

    • kristisn Says:

      Those pancakes tasted even better today! I nooked them for a minute longer than I usually do, and they stayed a little hotter.
      Oh great ideas for the acorn squash! Brown sugar and cheese sound great! What kind of cheese do you use? Do you put it on after you cook it?


Leave a Reply

