The Yummmiest Salad Ever

I have to admit, today was a pretty blah day.  Not blah in a bad way, just blah, nothing exciting kind of day.  I guess days like that are good every once in  a while, especially when I feel like I constantly have something to do every second of the day.  I got up today and had a little time to wake up before I jumped into my 30 Day Shred, and I must say that little bit of time worked wonders.  I really upped the intensity of the workout and ended up burning 318 calories…that’s the most I’ve ever burned on this workout. 

I had my Maple Cinnamon Apple pancakes for breakfast and have to admit, they were better today.  I heated them up for a bit longer than I did yesterday, and they stayed nice and hot.  I enjoyed some coffee with my breakfast.  Tuesday’s are always busy days for me and Justine.  With her after school activities, homework, dinner, and everything else… there isn’t much time in my evening.  I’m constantly on the go.  I had some leftovers for lunch 4 oz chicken, acorn squash, and the last of my sweet potatoes.  Soo good.  I think I could eat this everyday and not get tired of it.

While Justine was doing some homework I jumped on the treadmill and ran for 17 minutes, before getting pulled away from it because of my motherly duties (which was fine by me!)  I burned 206 calories which was great for just a little unplanned exercise.

For snack I had a banana.

For dinner… ohh… this was soooo good.  I used romaine lettuce, pomegranate seeds, 1/4 glazed walnuts, 4 oz chicken, and 1 tbs sesame ginger dressing.  I was a little sad eating the last bite cause this salad was just that good.

I think I'm in love

And then dessert

A little parfait action

I saw these in the store, and had a coupon… hahaha.. I love my coupons, though when I attended the Prior Fat Girl  get together I listened to a speaker talk about how coupons are mostly on products that aren’t good for you.  I knew this before, but sometimes I just can’t resist saving a little money.  After that though I’ve noticed that I’ve been a little more conscientious of coupons I cut.  It’s okay to save money, but not if it’s leading you away from your healthiness journey.  So back to my parfait… it’s Yoplait‘s Strawberry parfait and with 120 calories, it wasn’t too bad.  It tasted like strawberry yogurt with granola.

Tomorrow I decided that I was going to try to make some chicken, without using any recipes.  This is a first for me.  I always use recipes… and need to know exact measurements, but tomorrow I’m going to wing it.  Hopefully it’ll turn out ok 🙂

Do you have to cook with recipes, or can you just through some ingredients together and make it work?

7 Responses to “The Yummmiest Salad Ever”

  1. Di @ http://thetreadmilldiaries.com/ Says:

    Good luck with whipping up your chicken dish today. I bet it’ll turn out great.
    When I cook, I can wing it or use a recipe. Though if I do use a recipe, I always change it to suit me. Tends to work out. 🙂

  2. Theresa @ This is my Hungry Face Says:

    Good luck with making the chicken– I’m sure it will be great! When I cook, I usually just wing it or work off of a recipe, but don’t follow it exactly. Let us know how it turns out for you!

  3. erica @ fashionmeetsfood Says:

    That salad does look absolutely amazing. I am obsessed with POM seeds right now.

    xo

  4. Jenn@slim-shoppin Says:

    Great job working out while your daughter was doing homework. Even if it’s for a little bit, that’s better than nothing! Wahoo for you.

    Invariably if I work out with my kids around, I have to stop a bunch of times! You think that would give me the incentive to work out before they get up, but it doesn’t!

  5. 1lifeabundant Says:

    Oh, I totally use coupons–for everything, not just food. 🙂
    As far as cooking–I use recipes as a guide and then pretty much end up doing whatever I want!

  6. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    salad is definitely one of my favourite foods. i love a plate with assorted flavors and textures, it keepings things interesting! and yeah, i never use recipes, too much work (and usually too many ingredients.) dinner is usually just veggies thrown into a baking dish along with some evoo, seasoning, and garlic. as you see, i’m not much of a cook. :p


Leave a Reply

