Thai Mustard Chicken

For the second day in a row I woke up with a pounding headache.  It’s not a good way to start off the day.  I struggled to get out of bed, and I tried to tell myself that today just wasn’t going to be an exercise type of day.  And then the nagging in my head started.  I knew that I could not do my 30 day Shred.  I’m on day 11 of the workout (those are workout days, days I skipped are not included) and when I get to the 15 day I’m going to take my measurements to see the results.  So even though I was tired, and even though my head was pounding, and even though I was whining to myself every minute… I did my workout.  I ended up burning 262 calories, not as much as yesterday, but more than I would have not doing anything at all.

I had 2 maple apple cinnamon pancakes for breakfast and they were as delicious as the day before, maybe even more so.  Those pancakes seem to get better each day.  I’m going to be a little sad that they will be gone after breakfast tomorrow, but I have so many breakfast recipes that I want to try, I can’t wait to get started on some of the recipes.

So I said yesterday that I was going to make some chicken, without a recipe, which is a first for me.  I mean I can throw some spices on some chicken and put it on the grill without a recipe, but for the most part I need direction.  Until today… Now I know some of you may laugh at me, because it’s still a pretty simple recipe, but I’m proud of the fact that I did it on my own, and even though it didn’t take too much thought… it’s a step.  Baby steps, people, I’m still learning 🙂

These were my main ingredients

Fiber One cereal, chicken, and Hot Thai Mustard

I’ve had this mustard in my pantry for a while and though today was the perfect day to use it.

Next I took all my frustrations out on the chicken 🙂

I pounded the chicken flat

and put 1/2 cup Fiber one, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp pepper and curry powder and a pinch of salt in a food processor until it was fine crumbs.

I spread 1 tbs mustard on each chicken breast and then covered it in the crumbs

And they were ready to cook

As they were cooking I decided to get another quick exercise in and ran on the treadmill for 20 minutes, not bad for not wanting to exercise at all today.  The smell of the chicken was so good, I couldn’t wait to see how it turned out.

20 minutes later and they were ready to eat

I cut 3 oz off and put it with my acorn squash and apple potato hash

Success!

So I was pretty proud of myself.  The chicken turned out great.  The mustard was a little spicy, but the Fiber One crumbs and seasoning equalled it out.  It was so tasty I didn’t even have to use any sauce for chicken dippage.

As a reward I allowed myself 1 funsize candy bar, which was dangerous.  I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to stop at just one, but I had a Twix and stopped at that.

For dinner I had another one of my yummy salads.  I’m obsessed with all the different flavors in the salad, and they all go so well together.  This will be in my life for a long, long time.  I had another parfait for dessert. 

There you have it.  My day may have started out on the wrong side, but instead of letting my not feeling good get the best of me I pushed through it and found that I can exercise when I’m not feeling 100%, and I can make chicken without a recipe.  If nothing else I got to cross two things off my to do list for the day.

When your feeling under the weather do you allow yourself a rest day or try to push through it?

15 Responses to “Thai Mustard Chicken”

  1. Di @ http://thetreadmilldiaries.com/ Says:

    Yay – glad your chicken recipe turned out well. Great job!

  2. erica @ fashionmeetsfood Says:

    I am definitely going to give your chicken recipe a try. Looks heavenly!

    xo

  3. lauravirginia Says:

    Good for you for pushing through! Didn’t you feel better afterwards? I always feel better when I suck it up and get my exercise, haha! I’m glad your chicken worked out. What a great idea to use fiber one cereal for the “crust!”

    • kristisn Says:

      Well, the fiber one cereal crust came from the Hungry Girl recipes. 🙂
      I did feel better afterwards, sometimes you do have to push through and just exercise even if your not feeling 100%. Today isn’t one of those days though. I woke up feeling a little bad, and tired and knew that today was going to be a rest day.

  4. Jaclyn (Ananda Prana) Says:

    Oh my gosh where did you get that mustard? I love spicy food, so I think I need to try it ASAP 🙂

    • kristisn Says:

      I actually got it when I was in vacation in Vermont! It’s funny whenever I go on vacation I always bring back food stuff, that I can’t find around my way.

  5. Yum Yucky Says:

    I’ve gotta look for this Thai Hot Mustard you speak of. My husband loves hot stuff… besides me, of course. hehe

  6. Sabrina Says:

    Oh man! That chicken looks great!! I am going to have to be on the lookout for a similar mustard and whip that up one night!! I just love new chicken recipes!! 🙂

  7. Kat Says:

    I love the idea of coating chicken in fiberous cereal. Brilliant.

    As for rest, I try to keep on exercising until I’ve got some sort of respiratory thing going on. I want to keep up with the routine, but more importantly, I really would rather just have the sickness hit than malinger.

  8. kbwood Says:

    im sorry about your headache girl! BOO that is the WORST! i hope u feel better!!! I love the chicken recipe.. yum!

  9. Jamie @ Food in Real Life Says:

    This looks fantastic. Where’d you get that Thai hot mustard?

    • kristisn Says:

      I actually got that mustard in Vermont. We were at Bragg Maple Farm and found that mustard. It’s so good. I hope I can find something like it when I run out.


Leave a Reply

