Good Eats

Today was a good day.  Much better than yesterday.  I don’t know what happened to me yesterday.  Sometimes it feels like I’m on a roller coaster.  I’ll be high on all the accomplishments I made, and then the next day I will be on a low because I had a slip up, or I missed my exercise.  Anyways, I knew when I went to sleep that I was going to wake up and feel good, and I did.  I woke up and immediately went to doing some housework, just the basic laundry, dishes… and then I decided that I wanted to bake.  I knew that I had been planning on baking some bread this weekend, so thanks to Di over at the treadmill diaries I made a loaf of the Peanut Butter Banana Bread that I had seen on one of her posts.

The bread before the glaze

I had to go to the store to buy some powdered sugar for the glaze, so that would have to wait.

I then got my 30 day shred out-of-the-way and it felt good.  I guess sometimes it’s not a bad thing to take a break for a day to recharge so your workouts will be good, rather than you just going through the motions.

For breakfast I knew I had this in the pantry

You know what this mean..

Yup, it’s my first oats in a jar.

Oh my goodness... I'm addicted.

They were so good.  I used up my maple peanut butter (no worries, I have another jar ready to go in the pantry) and I couldn’t believe how good these were!  I was a little apprehensive in the beginning.  Oats…cold…in milk.  Uhhhh….. but after the first bite I was hooked.  I started thinking if there were any other jars of peanut butter in my pantry that I needed to finish up.  Oh, and don’t worry there is.  I just have other plans for breakfast tomorrow morning.

After picking Justine up from school we headed to the World Market and Target for a little shopping.  It was a good trip.  I picked up a few things that I can’t wait to try out. 

After getting home a little late I was glad that I had leftovers to heat up for dinner.

Thai mustard chicken, apple potato hash, and broccoli with cheddar sauce

I had a great day of eats.  Which makes for a great mood kind of day.  I finished off my meals with this.

Peanut Butter Banana Bread

I came home and made the glaze for the bread and finally was able to have a slice….soooo good! 

I’m planning on having a relaxing weekend.  I haven’t really made any plans, and that’s how I like it. We’ll see what the day brings tomorrow. 

When do you exercise?  Morning, noon, night?  Do you exercise right when you wake up or let yourself have a little while to relax in the morning?

Thanks to all those who commented on my negative nancy blog yesterday.  I really needed to hear all that you guys had to say.  It’s great to have people to support you, when you can’t really support yourself at the time.

8 Responses to “Good Eats”

  1. Di @ http://thetreadmilldiaries.com/ Says:

    So glad you enjoyed the peanut butter banana bread. 🙂

    And your first oats in a jar – congrats! They really are addictive. I fly through oats now because I eat this treat so often.

  2. krisgetshealthy Says:

    OoO! That bread looks good! I have to be SO careful with jars of nut-butter in my house, they are soo dangerous… the lick the spoon heavy handed measure, it gets me in the danger zone and I know the only person it really hurts is me.

    As far as when I exercise, on my gym days I go first thing, mostly because of my work schedule. I work overnights and my gym is not a 24/7 facility. if it was I think I would work out either midway through my day or at the end of the day. Although the outside observer, (Robb) tells me that when I return home after my workout I am full of more energy than when I left… I simply think it is that I am awake, as I feel exhausted after approx. 2 hours of working out.

    Either way I am glad to see you back on track today looks like you had a great day! Have a super weekend!

    • kristisn Says:

      I love any kind of nut butter. I have so many different varieties in my house, and I love that I found a new way to clean out the jar 🙂 I am so glad that I got out of the funk I was in. All of the comments I got that day helped. 🙂

  3. lauravirginia Says:

    I’m glad you are feeling better today. I haven’t been able to get into the whole “overnight oats” groove. Something about them being cold… I don’t know. I do, however, make them hot and then put them in a left over nut butter jar. It’s the BEST. I just wish I had left over jars more often! 😉 As far as exercise, I’ve realized that I’m more likely to do it and not make excuses later in the day if I do it first thing in the morning. Of course that doesn’t always happen, but its a nice thought. Enjoy your weekend!

    • kristisn Says:

      I was a little unsure of the cold oats thing too, but let me tell you… they are so good. I’m addicted and can’t wait to have them again. I’ll have to try hot oats in a jar, too.

  4. erica @ fashionmeetsfood Says:

    Heyy girly! The person who won my snack giveaway didnt get back to me after multiple attempts. So I drew your name. Please send me your address as soon as possible

    xo

    fashion meets food [at]yahoo

  5. Sarah (Running To Slow Things Down) Says:

    Oh my word. This banana bread looks amazing. Love it. 😀

    Aren’t oats in a jar so delicious? It’s enough to make me want to finish off another jar. 😉

    • kristisn Says:

      The banana bread was delicious. I’m glad I got to try it.
      Oats in a jar… I can’t believe how good they ended up being. I was a little unsure of them when I was putting the milk and oats in a jar, but after the first bite I was hooked!


Leave a Reply

