I’m a slacker

Oh yes, I’m a slacker today, and I am ashamed to admit that to all of you.  My face is growing red with embarrassment as I type.  With all that talk yesterday on my post about pushing myself to exercise, despite feeling bad, and how great I felt today I can’t say the same.  My alarm clock went off and I didn’t want to get out of bed, and I really didn’t want to get out of bed and exercise.  So I didn’t.  I wasn’t even sure if my arms would have been able to lift the weights even.  They felt like rocks were tied to the end of them weighing them down.  I trudged (cause that’s what it felt like), into the kitchen and ate the last of my pancakes.  I was sad to see them go, but am excited to see what I’ll have tomorrow.  I have so many ideas that I want to try.  I decided to just wait and see how I felt. 

As most of  you, or well some of you, know Thursday is beer with Dad day.  Last week I passed and I felt so proud of myself.  I felt like I had jumped that hurdle I was never able to jump before.  Today, not so much.  Today I might have crawled under the hurdle, because I drank a beer… or two.  I know, I know.  Failure #2.  I’m shaking my head at myself. 

We went to the grocery store and I got some sushi for dinner.  Thursday is also turning into Sushi Thursday for me.  I got the spicy lump crab rolls with brown rice, and the orange california rolls.  Mmmm… they were delicious.  But after that I ate 2 piece of these little Halloween chocolates that my mom made.  Failure #3.  After that I was disgusted with myself and made myself take a nap until it was time for me to go to work, so that I wouldn’t make any food mistakes.

You see anything else that is missing…. yup, no picture today.  Failure #4.  I’m a slacker.

For dinner tonight I’m going to have my yummy salad.  Scrumptious salad will never get old to me, and my yogurt parfait for dessert.  Though I don’t think I deserve a desert today 🙂

So, even though I’m disappointed in myself for my decisions today, I know they aren’t the worst.  So I might have to exercise a little harder tomorrow, or be more conscious of what I eat.  I know today’s decisions aren’t the end of the world.  We all have off days, and today just felt really off.  Hopefully tomorrow will be better.

12 Responses to “I’m a slacker”

  1. krisgetshealthy Says:

    Tomorrow will be better, the day resets. Shake it off. Easier said than done I know but perhaps maybe when you have an off day, you could work on picking one good thing you did today to focus on? That way you don’t have to feel so down on yourself?
    Since you already posted I will pick one for you today. You made the time to post to your blog holding yourself accountable for your actions and that is a big step.
    So tomorrow you will wake up and hit the ground running and don’t deny yourself dessert because you feel bad, unless that bad feeling is being full!

  2. annecalista Says:

    I agree, you cannot beat yourself up, or continue with this negative thinking about yourself regarding what you ate or how much you exercised. You have to be able to love yourself and your body every day, no matter what you did or what you look like. My strategy has been to just look forward to the next meal and try to make a healthy decision about what to eat, and not to look back on what I ate that might make me feel bad or like a failure. Keep up the good work, remember that the goal is health! 🙂

    • kristisn Says:

      THANK YOU for your comment. Your right… it’s health that’s my goal and weigh loss is a part of that, but not the whole thing. I need to remember that sometimes.

  3. Di @ http://thetreadmilldiaries.com/ Says:

    You’re 100% right. It’s only one day and you can bounce back from it by making better choices today. I wouldn’t be too hard on yourself – we all have a bad day or two. It’s how we react to them that matters.

    • kristisn Says:

      I try not to be too hard on myself. You know if a friend told me that they had an off day I would tell them it was fine we all have them, but for myself I kind of felt like well, a slacker. 🙂

  4. lauravirginia Says:

    Definitely not a failure!! We all have those “off days” sometimes. The important thing is not to let it define you or your day! Also remember that you don’t have to wait until the next day to start over (I used to do this), you can make your NEXT decision a healthy one! Good for you for being accountable and posting this. You are doing great!

    • kristisn Says:

      Thanks for all your supportive comments! I used to feel that if I messed up during the day than the whole day was wasted, but I’m trying to get out of that. I feel like yesterday I did good the rest of the day. I ate my salad and yogurt parfait. It was a good way to end the day.

  5. Jess Says:

    Don’t be hard on yourself! Everyday is a new one and one day doesn’t make you a slacker:)

  6. lowandbhold Says:

    You’re not a slacker! No one is perfect. I fail to exercise, take pictures of stuff and eat perfectly every day. No worries 🙂


Leave a Reply

