Sunshine Saturday

Today couldn’t have been a bad day with the great weather we had.  The sun was out, the weather was beautiful, and I was off… what more could I ask for?

My day started out with a breakfast that I can’t say enough good things about.  This recipe was out of the Skinny Bitch cookbook and if nothing else the cookbook was worth this recipe.  I made Banana Coconut French Toast, oh my goodness, the best way to start off my Saturday.  The batter for the bread consisted of this…

It was easy to make.  Besides the bread all you needed was a food processor or blender to blend all these yummy ingredients together.  The recipe said it made 6 pieces of french toast, but with the batter I ended up making 12.  I froze 6 of the pieces for later.

Heaven

Monday is my grandmother’s 73 birthday, so since I have to work and Justine has school we decided to drive over today and spend a little bit of time with her.  I grabbed a few snacks cause I wasn’t sure how long we would be out.

Perfect pair

I ate my snacks and we went to Target for a little shopping.  I think I’m addicted to Target, but you can always find the best deals there.  My grandmother enjoyed the day with her grand-daughter and great grand-daughter.  Justine took me for a joy ride in the car (cart) that my grandparent’s bought her for their house…. so spoiled 🙂

Joy ride!!

As we were cruising around the neighborhood my grandma ordered some pizza, not trying to offend her I had to have a piece or two.  I had 2 pizzas of Papa John’s pepperoni pizza.  The cheese part wasn’t tasting too good so I took the cheese off and put the pepperoni back on.  MMMmmm… sorry no pictures.  I ate it as soon as I got my hands on a piece.  After the relaxing day at my grandma’s we headed back home.  Most of the day was shot, but I was glad that we spent a lot of time outside on such a gorgeous day.

My friend/neighbor came over this evening and we may have had some of this..

Some blush wine on a sunny Saturday

I made dinner….

Curried Corn Soup with Mini Bruschettas

This soup was so good, and the best part it was only 240 calories for 1 and 3/4 cup.  The bruschetta was a purchase from Target, but they were quite tasty as well.  Do you want the recipe for the soup????

Healthified Curried Corn Soup courtesy of eat better America

2 tsp canola oil

1 cup finely chopped green peppers

1/4 cup chopped onion

2 tsp curry powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1 pkg (12 oz) frozen corn

1 cup chicken broth

3 cups fat-free milk

8 oz cooked medium shrimp

In a large skillet heat oil over medium high heat.  Add peppers and onion, cook about 4 minutes or until tender, stirring occasionally.  Add curry powder, salt and pepper; cook and stir for 1 minute.

Stir in corn and chicken broth.  Bring to boiling; reduce heat.  Cover and cook for 5 minutes or until corn is tender.  Cook about 10 minutes.

Transfer to a food processor/blender, add 1/2 cup milk.  Cover and blend until mixture is nearly smooth.  Return pureed mixture to saucepan; stir in the remaining 2 1/2 cups milk and the shrimp.  Heat through (do not boil).

This soup was so good, easy, and filling.  If you like curry, shrimp, and corn.  This is the soup for you.

And for dessert

Peanut Butter Banana Bread with Sugar Free Butter Pecan Ice Cream

This was the perfect ending to a perfect day.  I couldn’t ask for a better Saturday.  I hope everyone else has enjoyed the weekend!

What did you do on your Saturday?  How was the weather?

8 Responses to “Sunshine Saturday”

  1. Di @ http://thetreadmilldiaries.com/ Says:

    Tasty looking soup – and not too many calories either. Definitely thinking about making French toast tomorrow now. Mmm.

  2. Stephanie @cookinfanatic Says:

    I love those Sahale snacks, they are fabulous!!!!!!

  3. erica @ fashionmeetsfood Says:

    I definitely want french toast now! Looks amazing!

    xo

  4. Kat Says:

    Okay, I swear to god I read something somewhere about how when you go to Target, even if you don’t buy anything, you still leave the store feeling better than when you entered…Some sort of psychological set-up or something. Go figure.

    That french toast looks gorgeous, lady! I love the idea of doing a vegan one that way.

    • kristisn Says:

      I believe that study! I went to Target Friday and Saturday, and had great days. I don’t think I’ve ever not bought anything, but I love going to Target.
      That french toast is the best. I don’t think I’ll ever eat regular french toast again.

  5. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    sounds like you had a great weekend! mine was filled with the usual, except it’s getting HOT here in Sydney. we’re moving into summer and it sure feels like it! (i know, life is hard. :P)

    • kristisn Says:

      My weekend was great. We had beautiful fall weather all weekend. I don’t always have weekends off, so when I do and I get to spend the day outside with my daughter… I love it. I also know this fall weather won’t last too much longer and it’ll be getting cold.
      Does it ever get cold in Sydney?

  6. A Day of Getting It Done « the treadmill diaries Says:

    […] to either make myself some pancakes or french toast as a treat. After seeing Kristi mention her Banana Coconut French Toast, I was obsessed with making up my own coconut […]


Leave a Reply

