Beautiful Day

I couldn’t have asked for a more beautiful weekend.  With my job I don’t always get weekends off, so to have such a beautiful weekend to enjoy with my daughter was great.  Sunday we woke up to another beautiful day.  I started my day off right with some banana coconut french toast.  I don’t think I will ever make regular french toast again.  My mouth is watering thinking about it this evening 🙂 

I had a few apples to use up and decided to make some apple cakes.

Mini Apple Cakes

Close up

So let me just tell you about these apple cakes. I got the recipe out of a “healthy” cook book.  I think it’s supposed to give you lower calorie, better for you recipes.  The cake wasn’t that good calorie wise, but it also included a caramel glaze, so I figured if I omitted the glaze I would save on some calories.  After the cake was in the oven baking I went onto Spark People to calculate the calories. Even without the glaze the calories were double what it said in the book!  I don’t know where that book came up with the calories, but it was a ridiculous difference.  Needless to say I have given away all but one of the cakes. 

Before heading outside with Justine to spend some time out in the sun I had a little snack.  Some Peanut Butter Banana Bread and half a banana.

A little banana overload

We raked some leaves, which Justine decided to jump into, and we played some football, and frisbee.  We took a walk to get the newspaper.  It was a nice fall day, and I loved it.

For lunch I had my yummy salad… I hadn’t had it in a few days.  I was looking forward to it.

I ❤ this salad

pomegranate, chicken, glazed walnuts, and a little balsamic vinegar. Ohhh… it’s the best.  My mouth is watering again 🙂  Maybe I need to go get something to eat.

The rest of the evening was spent cleaning up a little bit, and taking a little run on the treadmill.  I realized that I am a little bored with the 30 Day Shred.  I think it’s good during the week, because it is a quick workout and if I can’t get anything else done I know I have 30 minutes to squeeze in that exercise.  During the weekends though I just don’t have any desire to bust out that dvd.  I think I’m just going to continue doing the 30 Day Shred during the week, and on the weekends find something else to do.  I know if I get bored with something I won’t stick with it.  I need a little mix up in my exercise life.

For a snack I had 1/2 cup plain yogurt with a little bit of granola.

For dinner I finished up my corn chowder soup.  It was still as good as yesterday and filled me up, which is what I needed.  My first day back to work is always the hardest.  I’m usually up all day, and may get a little nap in sometime in the evening.  Then I’m up all night at work until I get off in the morning.  It makes for a long day.  I have to try to spread my food out so it lasts me all night without going over my calories too much.  Here are the rest of my snacks for the night.

A little bit of this, and a little bit of that

So I need a little help… the Halloween candy I have has been taunting me lately.  Even the candy I threw in the back of the freezer, it keeps calling my name.  Most of the time I don’t listen, and can block it out, but the past few nights I’ve given in and had a piece.  the bad part is that I eat it at night…which is why you don’t get pictures on the post.  I’ve usually posted by the time I give in.  So what should I do with the Halloween candy… throw it out?  Bring it in to work?  I just don’t think I can keep the temptation of all that chocolate around.  I hate throwing food out, but I also hate knowing that I slipped and had a piece (or two) of candy.  Your suggestions would be greatly appreciated.  I just can’t decide, or really I don’t want to.

8 Responses to “Beautiful Day”

  1. lauravirginia Says:

    I think taking it to work is a good idea! But you could always save a few pieces out for yourself. 😉

  2. Sabrina Says:

    HOLY APPLE CAKES THOSE LOOK GOOD!!! Can you share the recipe? Or did you share it already and I was too busy drooling?

    I always give the candy to my mom to take to her school. Bringing it to work is a good idea, or just get rid of it all together. I can’t have things like that tempting me. My food addiction takes over and I stuff my face.

    • kristisn Says:

      Hey Sabrina. Sorry it took a min to respond. I’ll email you the recipe for the apple cakes. It’s not very good calorie wise… but it’s a good cake. You might also be able to change up the ingredients to make a better for you apple cake. I didn’t share the recipe cause it had double the calories, the recipe said it did. And that was just for the cake… there was a glaze to go on it!

      Well, so far I have done ok with the Halloween candy. I shoved it in the way back of my freezer, and haven’t thought about it since. Hopefully it’ll stay that way.

  3. Kat Says:

    If its siren song is unbearable, then it’s time to bring it to work. I know that’s what usually ends up happening with candy and me.

    Separately, I’m pretty much Varsity at baking things and then pawning them off on others because otherwise I’ll just eat them all. Way to banish the apple cakes. They looked adorable, though!

  4. erica @ fashionmeetsfood Says:

    That salad looks absolutely amazing!!!!! Those cakes looks gorgeous! Wonderful job!

    xo


Leave a Reply

