Catch My Breath

So sometimes it feel like I run from one thing to another throughout my afternoon/evening.  I try to get done as many things as I can at one time, thanks to some major multitasking.  Sometimes I look forward to work just because it’s the first time in my day that I can actually catch my breath.  I know that we all have those days where we just feel like we have too much to do.  Today was one of those days.

My day started off pretty normal.  I was all ready to do my 30 day shred dvd.  I hadn’t done it in a few days, and I had planned on doing it today, no excuses.  As I was waiting for the dvd to come on, I realized something my dvd remote wasn’t working.  I changed the batteries, I banged it “lightly” on my hand, I pushed all the buttons repetitively… still nothing.  I couldn’t do my workout without the dvd because I didn’t have the arrows to go down to the workout section.  I thought about putting the dvd in my laptop, but realized I wasted too much time on the stinking remote, and I would have to get ready to go get Justine from school.  Waahhhh… (that’s me crying when things don’t go my way) 🙂  I did have the last of my french toast, which made my mood a little better.

Once we got back home I had a checklist of things we needed to get done… homework, dinner, showers, getting stuff ready for work, home owner’s association meeting.  It was one thing after another.  I did manage to jump on the treadmill and get in a little workout in, since I missed my dvd.  And amongst the madness I made a quick, but delish lunch.

I had yellow peppers and tomatoes (from my grandma’s plants), onnion, shrimp, cheese, and Naan bread.

The makings of dinner

I brushed the Naan with a little olive oil and garlic and heated that up for about 2 minutes.  I then added all the pizza toppings.

Topping overload

While that was in the oven cooking for about 7 minutes I made a little side salad with Pom seeds and raspberry vinagerette dressing.

And then lunch was served!

Half a naan now, half a naan later

My evening was busy, but I got everything I needed to get done which is a good thing.  I’m a planner.  I plan everything.  I have a list of things I need to get done for the day and if I don’t get them done… well, it’ll leave me stressed the rest of the day.  I know, I’m such a worrier.  I just shake my head at myself sometimes.

Dinner was easy since I didn’t have too much time to get anything together.  I grabbed a can of soup out of the pantry.

Wolfgang Puck’s Organic Tortilla soup.  I mainly got this soup at Target because it was on sale, and I had a coupon.  That happens a lot.  I like having some soup in the cabinet incase I need to grab something quick for lunch or dinner.  This soup wasn’t bad.  It wasn’t spicy, which was a fail, but there were a lot of veggies and beans in there which was a pass.  I had a corn bread Vitaop with it.  Not too bad of a dinner.  Dessert is my last yogurt parfait.

Sometimes I just need to remember that I’m not superwoman.  I can’t do everything, and at times I just need to stop for a minute and catch my breath.

What do you do to calm yourself down when you feel like you don’t have a minute to spare?

2 Responses to “Catch My Breath”

  1. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    oh yikes, very good question. i don’t know what the answer is but i’m glad you found the time to fit in a workout. exercise always makes me feel better, relieves stress and all that. i’ve never tried the shred but SO many bloggers are talking about it. is it really that good?

    • kristisn Says:

      I like the 30 Day Shred just because it is a quick workout. In 27 minutes I can burn up to 300 and some calories and my muscles hurt the next day. It’s hard to believe sometimes, because I am only working out for 27 minutes. I also like that there are 3 different levels so you can progress through it as you feel your getting stronger. I haven’t made it to level 3 yet (yikes) but I think I will be soon, since I am getting a little bored with level 2. So I would say it’s a pretty good workout, even though I try to do a little something else most days.


Leave a Reply

