Ch-Ch-Ch Chia

I woke up this morning feeling pretty good.  I knew that I had a few more minutes to spare than I usually do since Justine has chorus after school.  I decided I was going to finish off a jar of peanut butter with my new favorite thing… oats in a jar.  I decided to ass a few chia seeds in the mix.

Yummmmmm!

Since I hadn’t looked into getting a new dvd remote I decided to go to Curves to get my workout done.  I have a membership at Curves, but don’t go there as often as I should to get my money’s worth.  Since I live in a pretty small town they have limited hours.  I can’t always get there when they are open.  It’s kind of like the 30 day shred… it’s a quick workout.  So I found an issue with Curves today.  They have a thing called Curves Smart and it’s a tag that you put in each machine that keeps track of your workout.  At the end it tells you how you’ve done with each machine and the calories you burned.  Now that I have my heart monitor I wore it there for the first time today.  Curves Smart said I burned 424 calories while my heart rate monitor said I burned 356 calories.  That’s kind of a big discrepancy.  I totally have more faith in my hrm, and think it’s curves that is off.  I mean I think 356 calories is great, but I’m glad I know it’s 356 and not 400 something.

I had another busy evening since I don’t pick Justine up until later, we don’t get home until later.  I jumped on the treadmill for 35 minutes, and felt great afterwards.  I’m really starting to enjoy running on my treadmill.  I think it helps that I have my hrm and can see the calories I’m burning.  Seeing progress really helps with keeping me motivated.

Tonight I made sesame chicken for lunch, without the sesame.  I thought that I had some sesame seeds up in the cabinet, but after searching and searching, none were to be found.  With the sesame chicken, I had rice, and broccoli.  I used a new package of Uncle Ben’s rice which cooks up in 90 seconds.

Roasted Garlic Whole Grain Rice

The rice was okay.  It had too much of a garlicky smell, and not the good garlic smell, the ummm… what is that smell. Once I got past the smell the rice wasn’t bad.  It went well with the broccoli and chicken.

You know when I eat my lunch or dinner I always use my lunch size plates, not the larger ones for dinner.  It makes it look like I have more food to eat.

Dinner was leftover soup with a cornbread vitatop followed by a Crispy Rice Peanut Choco Drizzle.  Nothing too much to write about there. 🙂

I have to tell you I’m so excited.  I have 2 nights left on the midnight shift, and then I’m back to living like a normal person.  It’s a long two months having your routine reversed.  So you’ll probably be hearing me talk about it ending over the next few days.  I am just ready for it to be over 🙂

What do you us chia seeds in? 

Here are a few giveaways that I wanted to mention:

http://www.fashionmeetsfood.com/2010/11/great-big-gluten-free-giveaway.html Fashion Meets Food has a great gluten free giveaway going on, so stop by and enter… or well maybe you shouldn’t 🙂

http://www.familyfreshcooking.com/2010/11/15/food-heroes-book-georgia-pellegrini-giveaway/ Family Fresh Cooking has a giveaway going on for a book called “Food Heroes”… it looks like a great book.  Headover to her site and you can find out all about the book and the author.

http://lauravirginia.wordpress.com/2010/11/16/skip-to-my-lou-thanksgiveaway/ Meet Virginia has a giveaway going on for two of the cutest cards you’ll ever see!  She makes them herself, and they are adorable.

That’s it!  I hope everyone has a great day!

9 Responses to “Ch-Ch-Ch Chia”

  1. erica @ fashionmeetsfood Says:

    Thanks for posting my giveaway! I have never tried rice in a bag before, but it looks pretty good i`ll have to check it out!

    xo

  2. lauravirginia Says:

    Thanks for the shout out! I am so honored! 🙂 How were the chai seeds? I have never tried them but always see them floating around in the blogosphere.

    • kristisn Says:

      Your cards were so cute! I’m happy to give you a shout out any time. I couldn’t really taste the chai seeds since they were mixed in to all that oatmeal goodness!

  3. Kat Says:

    I’ve never tried Chia Seeds in anything, so I really do need to get on it Thank god for the internet, though or else I wouldn’t even know where to start!

    SO good to hear that you’re finally getting your normal schedule back – there’s nothing worse than having to re-arrange your entire life!

  4. Kelly Says:

    I’ve never had chia sees in my life. And my HRM is my bible when i’m working out. It’s so accurate, I don’t go by anything else.

  5. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    that is strange about the calorie discrepancy, did you mention it to the ladies at Curves? maybe something needs to be calibrated?

    we have a stash of chia seeds, but i have yet to use them. i’ve heard they’re great over cereal and smoothies 🙂


Leave a Reply

