Starting the day off right

Today I took my sick day, and though I wasn’t happy about Justine being sick, and I was happy about getting to sleep a little later.  My breakfast consisted of Mighty Maple peanut butter on sandwich thins, a smoothie with a tbs of chia seeds, and a pumpkin spiced latte (that I made at home).

A good way to start the day

That breakfast kept me full for a long time.  I wasn’t sure when we would get into the doctor, so I was glad to see that it held me over for a few hours.  I did prepare better than I had a few days ago and packed a snack.  I didn’t want to have another McDonald’s attack like I did on Saturday.  While we were out I ended up snacking on a Luna Protein Bar. 

Chocolate Peanut Butter

This bar was ok.  I think when it comes to Luna I prefer their regular bars.  This tasted too much like a protein bar.  If that makes sense.  It did it’s job though.  I ended up making it home before I ate again.

Justine has tonsilitis… she’s on some medicine and is on the road to recovery.  I’m so glad I ended up taking her.  Sometimes I second guess myself, like what if it’s just a cold, but I knew this was something more.  The doctor said she should be feeling better in the next few days.  My back was feeling a little better today, but it still hurts.  My exercise has been slacking the past few days, so I’m definitely going to Curves after work tomorrow.  I need to get back into the routine.  It seems like if I miss a day or two of exercising it throws my whole routine off and it takes me a few days to get it back. 

For lunch I made the most yummiest pizza.  I used the last of my naan bread and put pears, yellow peppers, onions, crumbled bacon, and a little mozzarella cheese.

Naan with a little olive oil, garlic, and pears... just the beginning

Loaded and ready to cook

I couldn't wait to get my hands on this...

I wasn’t sure how all the ingredients would go together, but it was so good.  I was impressed with myself today 🙂

My day was pretty uneventful after that.  I did a few things around the house and now I’m just waiting to go to bed.  I’m so sleepy this evening.  I don’t even know why I slept for almost 12 hours last night!  Geez, you would think that would have been enough, but nope, I was feeling tired all day today.  Which leads to my special treat.

After the doctor I was super tired.  We had to go to Target to get the prescription filled so I decided today was a day for Starbucks.  I had a $3 coupon for a latte, so I gave it to the cashier after ordering my tall creme brule latte with skim milk and no whipped cream.  She was having a hard time with the coupon so she ended up giving to me for free.  Yessss!  There’s nothing better than a free Starbucks.

I kept dinner simple… 3 oz chicken, a cup of roasted cauliflower, and sweet potato fries, with a little Honey Mustard for dippage.

Pretty simple, but yummy

I’m not sure what, if anything I’m going to have for dessert tonight.  I’ve already had one of Mama Pea’s (www.mamapea.com) Peanut Butter Cookie Dough ball, maybe I’ll have another 🙂

Today was the end of my contest and instead of a random integer, I used something better…. Justine.  She was given the range of numbers and told to pick one.  The number she picked was 4… which means Jess is the winner.  Jess said

“I’d use it in my chicken casserole sounds kind of weird but I promise it’d be good!”

Congratulations Jess.  Send you’re emailing address to me.  My info is under the contact tab on top of my page.

4 Responses to “Starting the day off right”

  1. lauravirginia Says:

    Free Starbucks?! Jealous! And that naan pizza looks yummy! Hope Justine gets to feeling better soon!

    • kristisn Says:

      I loved my free Starbucks. I felt bad for the girl though. It looked like her and the register were battling and the register was winning. It worked out for me though 🙂
      That pizza was really good! I’m glad that I have leftovers to eat tonight.
      Thanks. I think Justine’s feeling a little bit better, but the doctor said it will be a few days before she’s 100%.

  2. Kat Says:

    I always carry a LARA Bar in my purse because otherwise hanger attacks.


Leave a Reply

