Bacon and Eggs

I took the weekend off because it was the weekend of the Christmas Parade in Fredericksburg.  Every year for the past four or five years we have attended this parade… it’s tradition 🙂

Our Saturday morning started out with breakfast with Santa at Justine’s school.

Justine and Santa

Santa is actually my Dad.  For the past three years he has dressed up like Santa for one of their events at school.  The first year Justine said that Santa’s eyes looked weird, kind of like Grandad’s, but she wanted say anything to her grandad or Santa.  The following year, she told her friends that Santa was Grandad, but still wouldn’t say anything to him.  This year she was convinced that Santa was Grandad, but once she got there she still couldn’t tell Santa that he was Grandad and she couldn’t tell Grandad that he was Santa. This year breakfast at the school was pretty good.  We had eggs, 2 slices of bacon, and a biscuit.  Last year the breakfast was so bad that before we went to the school I had OIAJ.  So really I had two breakfasts that morning, which was okay because I skipped lunch.

We stay at the Marriott in downtown Fredericksburg because the parade goes right by the hotel.  If you get a room with a view you can watch the parade from the warmth of your hotel room.  We have stood outside many times in the cold, shivering, and having to use the rest room, which of course there are non around.  Once the Marriott was built we decided that getting a room was the way to go.  We got to the room a little early and had dinner, pepperoni pizza, in the lobby.  This is the second year we’ve been at the Marriott and a lot of the employees recognized us from last year and welcomed us back.  We ventured outside for a while and walked up and down the streets, stopping by the shops and just being in the holiday atmosphere.

Our view from the room

That was when people were still getting set up.  It turned out to be a really nice parade, and a really good time.  In the morning we had brunch with Santa.  I think I ate a little too much.  I had a crab cake, eggs, bacon, a biscuit, and golden potatoes.  They were so good, but I think my eyes were bigger than my stomach, because I couldn’t finish everything on my plate.  I don’t really eat bacon and eggs too often so having it two days in a row is enough for me for a while.

We got home Sunday afternoon and finished decorating the tree.  I had a glass of pumpkin spice liquer while tree tirmming.

Tasted just like pumpkin pie

After the tree was finished I felt like baking.  Here’s is my grandmother’s stand mixer she’s letting me use.

It looks ancient to me!

I’ve used it twice now and it works great.  After going through my recipes I decided to make  Muffins That Taste Like Doughnuts.  When I first started printing off recipe from blogs, I forgot to put down whose blog I got it from.  So if this is yours or you know who’s it is please let me know so I can give credit to where credit is due!

Muffins That Taste Like Doughnuts

1 3/4 cup flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/3 cup oil

3/4 cup white sugar

1 whole egg

3/4 cup milk

Topping:

1/4 cup butter

1/3 cup sugar

1 tbs cinnamon

Combine flour, baking powder, salt, nutmeg and cinnamon.

Combine oil, sugar, egg, and milk.  Add dry ingredients and stir only to combine.

Bake at 350 degrees for 15- 20 minutes.  Meanwhile, melt the butter in a bowl.  Combine the sugar and cinnamon in another bowl.

Shake muffins out while still hot.  Dip muffins in butter, then into sugar combo mix.  Let cool.

That's only half of the recipe

This is what I’ve made over the weekend…

Peanut Butter Cookie Dough Balls and Muffins

My conclusion:  I need to find me a man to eat up all these baked goods 🙂  If you know of any good ones send them my way please.  Haha.  Justine doesn’t eat any of my baked goods, so I eventually eat them, pass them to my neighbors, parents, or work.

After reading a post over at Eating Chalk I decided to try a recipe I saw on her page.  Rachel Ray’s Pasta with pumpkin and sausage.  I used Morning star crumbles instead of the sausage, but it was still good.  I don’t cook pasta very often, because truthfully I’m afraid of carbs.  Every once in a while I’ll make a little of it though and today seemed to be a good day for it.

A little side salad to go with dinner

That was my weekend.  I have to work tomorrow, but it’s my Friday so then I’ll get off the next two days again.  I really enjoy working one day and then having two days off 🙂  If only my work week could really be like that.

The rest of the night is going to be spent finishing my book.  I’m reading Playing Dead by Harlan Coben.  I love any book he writes.  I get so into them and end up reading them whatever chance I get until I’m finished.  They are suspense, so if you like that type of book, he is a great author.  He’s even made me cry at the end of some of his books.

I need to catch up on my blog reading. 

And I need to find something for dessert 🙂

6 Responses to “Bacon and Eggs”

  1. Jess Says:

    I believe the recipe is from the pioneer woman:)

  2. lauravirginia Says:

    What a fun tradition! I’m glad you all had a good time! 🙂

    p.s. That is too funny about Justine and “santa!”

  3. spoonfulofsugarfree Says:

    FUN FUN! Even though the food isn’t the best, it sounds good!

    May I suggest a chocolate cake for one for your dessert tonight!!!!

  4. krisgetshealthy Says:

    I can’t believe how fast the month is going. Those Muffin-donut things might make a great gift for some people I work with! Ill have to bookmark this 😀

  5. Toni Says:

    It’s almost Christmas! I feel like I missed out on November and got transported into December without having seen fall at all! lol. What a lovely tradition!

  6. erica @ fashionmeetsfood Says:

    Oh my word LOVE the mixer!!! My mum use to have that one before she got her kitchen-aid a couple years ago. It worked like a champ and I adored it. Delish recipe!

    xo


Leave a Reply

