It’s time for a little cooking

Did I tell you that I took two weeks off to enjoy the holidays?  My vacation started on the 17th of December so I could get ready for my birthday party on the 18th.  I don’t have to return to work until Dec 29th.  I’m loving not having to go to work, getting to spend some time at home, and getting to spend time with my family… some of which are visiting from out-of-town.

First I wanted to share with you this awesome present I received in the mail the other day. I participated in Tina’s from Faith, Fitness, Fun blogger gift exchange.  I got a great gift from a blog reader named Kristi.  It was a box full of goodies from the Made in Washington Store.

Waffle and Pancake mix, Honey Hazlenut crackers, orange tea, Peanut butter dark chocolate truffle bar, Blackberry Honey Creme, Applw Raisin Walnut Butter...let me just say YUM!

There was also some Sweet Onion Mustard that wasn’t pictured.  I got my present the Friday before my party, and ended up taking the mustard with me to go with all the cheese and crackers.  It was a hit!!

Justine is still in school part of this week, so my mornings are starting out as usual.  I got up this morning and had a blueberry muffin I snagged from my parent’s house last night.

I don't have muffins very often, so this was a nice treat

I went to Justine’s school this morning for a play that her class was performing.  I was so nervous for Justine, but she did great, and didn’t forget any of her lines.  Yay 🙂

Once I got home I went to work on my to do list for the day.  While I was cleaning off my desk I came across a Wegman’s recipe magazine.  I was flipping through it and found an Apple Almond Yam Cakes recipe.  I had two yams and an apple that I needed to use so I thought that his recipe would be perfect. 

Two yams and an apple

I have never used my food processor as a grater, but when I thought about grating the apples and yams by hand I was exhausted by the thought.  Then it hit me…. my food processor!  It made this process so easy.

1/2 cup chopped onions

I transferred the yam apple mixture into a bowl and threw in the onion.  I then added the 4 eggs.  I used 2 regular eggs, and 1/2 cup egg beaters.  I also substituted the sour cream for plain Chobani yogurt.

Add some salt and pepper to taste

Next up was 1 1/4 cup flour, and once mixed until combined, I added the last ingredient… 1/2 cup almonds.

Once everything was mixed well together I shaped a 1/2 cup of the mixture into patties.

This recipe makes 12 patties

Heat a 1/2 cup vegetable oil and cook those patties.  7-8 minutes on one side and then 5-6 minutes the other side.

Drain on a paper towel

Viola!  They are done.  They aren’t the best for you, but getting to use up a few things I had lying around seemed like a great accomplishment for the day.

Apple Almond Yam Cakes

1 1/4 lb yams, peeled, coarsely grated

1 medium granny smith apple, peeled, cored, coarsely grated

1/2 cup chopped onion

1 1/2 tbs sour cream

4 large eggs

salt and pepper to taste

1 1/4 cup flour

1/2 cup sliced almonds

1/2 cup vegetable oil

Combine yam, apple, and onion in a large mixing bowl.  Add sour cream and eggs; season to taste with salt and pepper.  Stir to combine.  Slowly fold in flour.  Stir in almonds.  Mix well.  Form yam mixture into patties bu scooping portions with ice cream scoop (about 1/2 cup) and pressing firmly into patties. Set aside.

Heat oil in a large skillet over medium high heat.  Reduce heat to medium.

Add yam patties to pan.  Cook, 7-8 minutes until edges begin to brown.  Gently turn patties over.  Cook 5-6 minutes until browned and tender.  Drain on double thickness of paper towel.

Can be made ahead and reheated in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes.

1 pattie equals 240 calories, 6 grams protein, 12 grams fat, and 3 grams fiber

Of course I did have to taste one once they were done cooking.  They were pretty good.  I had a little light Ranch on the side.  I always need some kind of sauce for a little dippage.  I’m going to freeze most of them.  I think they’ll freeze fine, but we’ll see.

Lunch was the same as yesterday.  Chicken tenders and mac n cheese.  I finished up the mac n cheese today.  My fridge is looking a little bare besides all the bottles of wine leftover from my party 🙂

2 Responses to “It’s time for a little cooking”

  1. Di @ http://thetreadmilldiaries.com/ Says:

    Yummy Secret Santa goody basket. 🙂

  2. Kat Says:

    I swear to God, little pups and their school plays are just nerve-wracking! I’m so glad that Justine did well 🙂

    What a fun bloggy gift-basket exchange. I just love when you get to try someone else’s regional treats!


Leave a Reply

