My work pants fit!

First thank you all for the birthday wishes.  I wasn’t feeling too great that day, but I made the best of it.  I don’t think I will ever get too old to feel special on my birthday…

I’m happy to say my work pants fit!  With all the eating… and eating… and eating I have been doing these past few weeks I have been living out of my stretchable pants.  I was scared to put some real pants on.  I wish I could say that I’ve made good food choices, that I didn’t let the season get the best of me, that I kept with how I had been eating, but I didn’t and I’m owning it.  I hope that in a year I’ll be able to say that I didn’t blow it on the holidays.  I hope in a year I’ll be in a better place with food, and I won’t make bad choices just because I can.  I hope.

This morning I kept my breakfast light.

Muffin that tastes like a donut and apple juice

I borrowed my daughter’s mug!  I hope she doesn’t mind! 🙂

I wish I could say that I was eating light to get myself back on track, but no I was eating light because I knew that my coworkers  were bringing in some cinnamon crunch bagels from Panera to welcome me back to work.  It’s nice being missed 🙂  The bagel was good… so good.

For lunch I had some soup that I made the other day when it was snowing.  Chicken and Gnocchi soup.  I fell in love with gnocchi when I had some soup at the Olive Garden.  I loved the pasta and mashed potato combination.  When I saw them at Wegmans I bought a few packages not knowing what I was really going to make with it.  I really wanted to make gnocchi with some kind of soup and so I did.

Homemade bread to go with some homemade soup

I have a bread maker that I love using, I just don’t make bread too often.  I would rather eat sandwich thins for 100 calories, then eat bread with a little more calories that I made.  Sad I know, but it’s the truth.  Not pictured was the macaroni salad that a coworker brought in.  Sooooo good.  I was in carb heaven.  Also not pictured was the smores popcorn that I munched on until I started feeling a little sick. 

After work I went to Ledo’s for dinner.  Justine and I met a friend there, so it was nice being able to catch up.  It was nice that I chose to order the Portobello mushroom salad.  It came with red grilled onions, blue cheese, candied pecans, and apples on a bed of romaine and spinach.  It came with warm bacon dressing.  The salad was huge.  The garnishes were just enough.  I ate every single bite.  It was not nice that I ordered toasted ravioli for an appetizer.  I also ordered a slice of Reese’s peanut butter pie… also not nice.  I left feeling full and worried that if I don’t get my eating back on track soon…  I’m going to start feeling really bad about myself.

I wanted to share with you my only kitchen appliance I got this year for Christmas, and I am so excited to use it.

Panini Maker and Grill!

I can’t wait to use this!

I’m slowly starting to get back into my routine.  I think going back to work helps.

11 Responses to “My work pants fit!”

  1. Sabrina Says:

    LOVE PANINI PRESSES!!! Have fun with your new toy! And can I just say Yahoo! For the work pants!

  2. adventuresofpretendcook Says:

    Yay that your work pants fit!

    I have a bread maker and I haven’t used it in a while. But the homemade stuff is so much better than the sandwich thins. The extra calories are totally worth it.

  3. krisgetshealthy Says:

    I have to echo Sabrina up there, LOVE Panini presses! Those deli flat thin sandwich bun things are AWESOME in a panini press! I’m just sayin, it makes a great easy go to healthy supper! I know its no substitute for a nice hearty slice of sourdough or something but still we all gotta do what we gotta do.

    I can relate to the being offtrack thing. I have been so laxed in my exercise, and a little laxed in my eating. I think it is rude to go to someones house and not eat the meal they prepared. So I indulge in the stuffing and the mashed potatoes even though I know there is a stick of butter and some buttermilk in them. Ofcourse I have a slice of pie but only eat half, but the holidays only come around once a year.

    I am glad you aren’t beating yourself up over it, I am not either. It takes time and balance. Remember food is a socially required thing. Unlike alcohol or other drugs it is something that will forever be present in our lives. We are all learning to balance our choices. The new year is starting in a few days, and remember every day things start fresh. New choices!

    You can do this, One decision at a time. Maybe a goal of giving up eating at restaraunts for a month would help? I find if I am eating food I cooked I stay on track better. *shruggs* it cant hurt right?

    Either way I hope your last few days of 2010 are good and that 2011 is fantastic! Happy New Year!

    • kristisn Says:

      I think I’ll definitely use sandwich thins in my panini press.
      I hope to get back on track soon. I know that I shouldn’t hope, but just do it. I’ll get there.

  4. Jackie @ Baking Charms Says:

    I use my panini press almost every single day!!

    And it is great that your work pants fit 🙂 What a wonderful feeling!

  5. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel Says:

    YAY!!!!!! new years comes early for you! 2011 will be an amazing year!!!

    btw i wanted to let you know since u mentioned on my mood disorder post that u were taking antidepressant/anxiety meds but were hoping you could find some good natural alternatives. well i wanted to quickly tell you about ‘Veeva’ its a new product to help depression (all natural/herbal) i just recently started taking it and HOLY CRAP the stuff is kick-ass haha. it really brightened my mood. i also drink holy basil tea before bed which is amazing. im also ordering kava tea online since its illegal in Canada but the U.S. sells it and so many people swear by it for anxiety. anyways thought id let you know. definitely check it out online and read into it if ur curious.

    all the best xoxo ❤

  6. Khara Says:

    Awesome, my husband wants a panini press so I’m eventually going to have to have one. And those bagels are my fave! Mmmm


Leave a Reply

