Happy New Year’s

Happy New Year’s everyone! 

As part of my new year’s resolution I had to see the damage I had done over the holidays.  I tried to hide from the scale long enough, so this morning I bravely stepped on the scale and saw that I was like the average American (or so the radio says) and gained 7 pounds.  I knew there would be a gain and I’m okay with that.  I hope that throughout this year I will learn how to not over indulge, but not feel deprived.

Let me start off by sharing my new year’s eve.  I knew it was going to be an uneventful day.  I had to be at work at 0630 on New Year’s Day which kind of cut into the late night celebrating.  That was okay though.  I wanted to do something a little special for Justine so Erin and I decided to take our kids to see the movie Tangled.  The movie theatre was CRAZY.  I have never been there when it has been so crazy, but since the movie had been out for a while out theatre wasn’t too packed.

I decided to be half way good and pack my own snacks.

Buffalo Ranch Popcorn

Kettle Corn Popcorn

I love The Popcorn Factory popcorn.  I had ordered a bunch of different flavors for my birthday party and after trying them all I must say the Ginger Teryaki was my fav (I might have carried the whole container around with me and tried not to share).  I was glad to have it to take to the movies, because I know my popcorn was better for you than movie theatre popcorn.

Honey cinnamon almonds, popcorn, and water

I made enough snacks to share 🙂

Since I had to work I hadn’t planned on doing anything in the evening, but being the great neighbors they are Kris and Erin invited me and Justine over.  The adults had a few cocktails….

Bloody Mary

Please excuse my nasty hair do...

And the kids played

It was nice to feel like I celebrated a little even though I was in bed by 9:00!  I did wake up at 11:00 and got to see the ball drop… well, I watched the one with Snooki inside the ball.  I went back to sleep a little after midnight so I could get up at 4:00 to make monkey bread for me and my coworker.

I have most of this leftover.

I didn’t even make the whole recipe, but it made so much! 

I woke up feeling like I had let out a big breath.  I feel like the start of a new year, is like starting out fresh.  Leave the troubles in 2010, and only bring the good into 2011. 

Happy New Year's Everyone!!!!!

8 Responses to “Happy New Year’s”

  1. lauravirginia Says:

    I gained a few over the break too… you’re not alone! Isn’t it wonderful how a new year feels like a brand new start? Time for me to get back on track! But, please please PLEASE post the recipe for that monkey bread. It looks sooo good!

  2. Sabrina Says:

    Yes, I am pretty sure I gained about 7 pounds too! Ah. Back to the grind!

    Happy 2011!!

  3. Khara Says:

    That monkey bread looks fabulous! Happy New Year!

  4. krisgetshealthy Says:

    So glad to hear you feel like you let out a breath! That is the best part of New Years coming on the heels of the holidays. A fresh start a new year, a clean slate.
    I hae to say that buffalo ranch popcorn sounds REALLY good! I always take my own snacks on the rare ocassion I go to the theater, (turkey jerky and a special k bar last time i went) though lately theaters are getting better, last time I went they had Skinny Cow ice cream sandwiches (granted they cost an arm and a leg!!) and I hear Sahale Snacks is rolling out into theaters as well!
    There is definatly a healthy revolution coming and I am thrilled! Happy 2011!

  5. Di @ http://thetreadmilldiaries.com/ Says:

    I agree – it feels great to have a fresh start in the New Year. Sometimes it’s that little push we need to get going or to keep going down the right path. And the monkey bread looks fabulous. 🙂

  6. adventuresofpretendcook Says:

    I finally dragged myself to the scale this morning and luckily, I didn’t gain anything. I am sure that you will lose that weight in no time. You are so healthy and just remember how much fun you had over the holidays! Happy New Year!

  7. Laura Says:

    My BF and I went to see “The Fighter” last week and I snuck in Kettle Corn too! I’m a huge fan of supersized purses for just that reason!


Leave a Reply

