Friday recap…and a little rant

Here is my weekly recap:

I exercised 3 days this week.  Still not at my 4 days, but better than my one day last week.  I had all intentions to exercise more this week and then they started calling for all this bad weather.  I ended up having to stay at a friend’s house Tuesday night, to make sure I was at work the next morning.  We ended up not getting much of anything snow wise, but it through my routing way off.  I need the structure of planning out my day and when those plans go awry…ugh.  I really need to work on that.

I made two new recipes this week.  The cake batter blondies and honey dijon chicken.  Both of them were fabulous.  I’m glad that I decided to try them.  I love trying new recipes.

I’ve been doing weight watchers this week, but I must say I haven’t been doing it as well as I would like to.  I’m learning.

And to show you what I’ve been learning…. let me start out with some food today.

Thanks to Laura I tried a Green Monster for the first time today.  Her recipe for a peanut butter green monster looked to good to pass up.

Green Monster!

I threw all the ingredients into my blender and viola… you have my first green monster.  The verdict?  Well, I love Laura’s recipe.  You really couldn’t taste the spinach and the peanut butter flavor was so good.  After drinking I realized it might be a little too thick for my taste buds.  I’m definitely going to make Laura’s recipe again.  I think this time I’ll add a little more Almond Breeze!  Thanks Laura!  It was also quite filling.  When I first saw the little amount in my glass I thought WHAT?  It kept me full through my workout.

For a snack I had some yogurt, banana and glazed walnuts.

My Fav snack!!

I had the day off and though I had sooo much that I needed to do, there just wasn’t much that I wanted to do.  I did get a lot of the things on my to do list crossed off.  I really shouldn’t complaining 🙂

Lunch was so good!  When I was finished I wished there was more.

romaine lettuce, 1/4 cup blue cheese, a few pieces of onion, 3 oz chicken and some Trader Joe's Spicy Peanut Vinagarette

That salad was amazing!

I was feeling soo good with myself.  I was on target for my weight watcher’s point.  I had already exercised.  I was really doing great today.

I threw some fruit in there as my snack since it’s 0 points.

Pineapple and blueberries

And that’s where the story ends folks.  For dinner I had honey Dijon chicken with green beans planned, but instead I ordered chinese.  *shaking my head*  I was too ashamed to even take a picture of what I ate.  What happened from the time I was eating my fruit to dinner time. 

I start to wonder… do I not want this enough?  I’ve been struggling to lose weight for 8 years!  8 years people.  8 years I’ve been battling myself.  Why can’t I just say enough is enough?   I need to do some serious reevaluating on myself.  If I don’t want to get healthier and lose weight why do I struggle with it?  Why not just give up?  Sorry this wasn’t supposed to turn into a whiney post.  I had my pose all planned out… to show you what the weight watchers plan is supposed to do for you.  I feel like I can have so much food when I plan it right.  In the back of my mind I think.. well, I’ve already messed up this week.  Monday can be a new start, but I know that’s not the right way to think.  I should be thinking about tomorrow, not Monday.

I think I’m going to sit and think tonight, about what it is I really want and how I need to get there.

18 Responses to “Friday recap…and a little rant”

  1. Khara Says:

    Hi! Sorry I’ve got a bit behind on commenting lately. You are a busy lady and I am impressed with the strides you are making. Don’t beat yourself up when you treat yourself, forget, or miss a goal! You can still make it to where you are going. It’s hard! We all make mistakes and have challenges. What are you studying? Is it a long program?

    • kristisn Says:

      Thanks… it’s so hard not to get down on myself when it feels like I fail at weight loss all the time.
      I haven’t really decided what I’m studying. I’m leaning towards Psychology. Right now I’m just getting my basic courses done.

  2. adventuresofpretendcook Says:

    Yay for green monsters! I love them, but it’s been way too long since I’ve had one.

    Try not to beat yourself up too much. You are doing the best you can. Every meal and every minute is a chance to start fresh. Praise yourself for what you did do. Exercising 3 times a week is still awesome. You’re doing something! You also ate healthy all day. Try not to beat yourself up for one heavy meal. Be kind to yourself. 🙂

    • kristisn Says:

      I’m trying not to get down on myself. Actually yesterday was an eye opener for me. It made me realize what I really need to do, if I want to win this weight loss struggle.

  3. lauravirginia Says:

    Yay! Glad it turned out well! 😀

  4. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel Says:

    maybe its that u need to switch it up a bit.. sort of like ur body has become accustomed to the patterns and in order to change needs a whole shake up. even with exercise and diet, it can reach that plateau where it just stays there no matter the efforts. sometimes switching to things like dance, or pilates, weight training, swimming.. and alternating the amount of meals (some days 5-6 mini meals, some days 4 larger meals) …. hmmm …. the body is SO tricky like that. it truly has a hard time breaking through that initial weight loss.

    xoxo ❤

  5. Laura Says:

    So frustrating when you just can’t break the cycle, I know. It took me a long time to learn the lesson of “if you do that/eat this you WILL feel like crap and you WILL be miserable and it is just not worth it”. The biggest “mistake” – if you will – is saying you’ll start fresh on Monday… or tomorrow… say you will start fresh with the very next bite. Make it a good, clean, healthy, nutritious one. Don’t worry about taking it a day at a time… try taking it a bite or a meal at a time. There’s more opportunities to feel successful that way and feeling successful helps motivate you to keep it up, don’t you think?

    • kristisn Says:

      I need to remember that. It’s one bite at a time. I have a bracelet from a prior fat girl that reads One bite at a time. One decision at a time. I think I need to keep it with me to remind me when times get hard. Thanks for reminding me.

  6. Kat Says:

    I’ve never tried a green monster – but that one looked (and sounded!) really good 🙂

    Lady, we’ve all managed to make plans that we end up mucking up. It’s part of being a human. You’ve already given yourself enough grief about it so, keep your head up and press on. If you’re having another low moment/craving, just remember that moment and remind yourself of why you’re doing this. You can do it!

    • kristisn Says:

      The green monster was good, just a little too thick for me. I’m going to try it with more Almond Breeze next.
      Thanks, for all your supportive words, Kat!

  7. Amanda Says:

    I know how you feel. I’ve been trying to lose weight for 10 years! It’s frustrating and it’s why I decided to completely cut out fast food this year. I’m slowly working on cutting out soda and cutting back on dessert too. I’m hoping that these little changes will help!

    My week with WW wasn’t fantastic either. Ugh. Next week will be better!

    • kristisn Says:

      I really need to cut back on the sweets. I’ve made a pledge to myself not to bring anymore sweets into the house. I just can’t control myself.

      I’m definitely going to try to do better on WW this week. I won’t know if it works if I don’t give it a try.

  8. erica @ fashionmeetsfood Says:

    Working out for three days is better than no days. I don`t know how people can drink green monsters the look just makes me gag lol. Your said looks absolutely AMAZING though!

    xo

  9. sara@domesticallychallenged Says:

    Dude…can you send me the recipe for the pb thing? I LOVE, no ADORE, PB, and this sounds fabulous!
    If the WW isn’t as motivating for you, I’d check out Intuitive Eating or Mindful eating. There is another one I am reading (haven’t finished yet) that is turning out to be excellent as well. They come in from a different viewpoint, which sometimes makes all the difference.

    • kristisn Says:

      Are you looking for the peanut butter green monster recipe?
      I don’t think I’ve given WW the chance I should. I write down me meals for the day and add up the points, but then when I eat extra I never add it up. I need some self discipline. I would love to read more about inuitive eating or mindful eating. Do you have any books that you would recommend?


Leave a Reply

