The Great Debate

I had kind of a text message war last night.  It went a little like this.

Friend: I’m bringing Chinese leftovers for lunch for us tomorrow.

Me: Ummmm… no.  I’m not eating Chinese.

Friend: Yes, you are.

Me: Nooo… I’m on weight watchers.  I want to do it right this week.

Friend: Your eating Chinese.

Me: No, I already have my points planned out for the day.

Friend: It’s a holiday.

I debated all night… was I going to eat the Chinese or wasn’t I.

I felt like I was letting my friend down by not eating with her.

I felt like I was being that friend that I hated that would go out to eat with me, and not eat because she was on a diet.

I felt like I wanted the Chinese.

Does anyone else think like this?  Do they battle within their selves over whether to eat something or not?  I knew I was being silly.  I knew it didn’t really matter. 

This morning I woke up and had

1/4 cup egg beater, Queso laughing cow wedge, sandwich thin, 1 cup pineapple and 1/4 cup blueberries= 5 points

Wouldn’t you know the day I decided to really get serious was the day that it was candy land at work… peanut M&M’s, Snow caps, cookies… they were surrounding me.  They were calling my name.  I resisted and ate my snack.

1/2 cup Chobani yogurt, 1/2 cup blueberries, 1/8 cup slivered almonds, 1 tbs white chocolate chips= 5 points

The white chocolate chips satisfied my sweet tooth for the time being.

And then the Chinese debate started again.

Friend: Your going to eat Chinese.

Me: No, I’m going to eat my salad.

Friend: Chinese

Me: Salad

She heated the Chinese up and the smell wafted through the air.  I wanted to tell her to make me a plate.  I didn’t want her to think that I was passing up the Chinese only to fail another day.  Decisions, decisions.  Would one day really hurt me?

I ended up having

3 cups romaine, 1/4 cup blue cheese, 3 oz chicken and 2 tbs Trader Joe's Spicy Peanut vinaigrette= 8 points

I was so glad I did.  My salad was fabulous.  I love the dressing, and I love blue cheese.  And I knew that if I had the chinese I would have felt like I had let myself down.

Snacks consisted of

Tangerines=0

Carrots and 1 tbs hummus= 1 point

I also gave into two small cookies that had been calling my name all day.  I did log them onto my weight watcher tracker.

Dinner was leftovers Honey Dijon Chicken

Honey dijon chicken= 7 points

And for dessert I jumped on the banana soft serve bandwagon.  How can I pass it up when the banana is 0 points.

banana soft serve with 1/4 cup glazed walnuts= 4 points

Oh my goodness this was sooo good.  I’m so glad I tried it tonight.  It was the perfect ending to a pretty good day of eats.

I also want to thank everyone for their comments yesterday.  It was a really hard post to publish yesterday.  I mean this is a secret I’ve had bottled up for so long and even my closest friends who I tell everything to doesn’t know.  So I was finally able to get that off my chest.  Thanks for being there and thanks for listening 🙂

17 Responses to “The Great Debate”

  1. christine Says:

    Yeah for you. That was tough. I have been there. Did you really miss it? I do not think so and and you felt better for it. Again, YEAH!

  2. Thetreadmilldiaries Says:

    Good for you for passing up on the Chinese food. You did the right thing. You may want to have a heart to heart with your friend to avoid another situation like this in the future. I’m sure they wouldn’t pressure you if they knew how important it was to you.

  3. Hally Says:

    I’m so happy you choose the healthy food options! You’re such an inspiration. I had a similar situation with my family. That’s why I started my blog, and shared the link. Its hard for them to try to sabotage me when they read how hard I’m working. Maybe you could share your blog with your work friend, if you’re comfortable with it of course.

  4. Kat Says:

    Rock on, lady! I know for me, regardless of what I’ve brought with for lunch, it’s never a done deal until I start eating. Once you start eating, it’s not a problem and the healthy stuff tastes great. But until the fork gets to your mouth, it’s open season.

  5. Jess Says:

    I definitely have issues similar to that- because I want to spend time with my friends, but I also want to eat healthily.

  6. Laura Says:

    Amazing! It’s so hard to battle both yourself AND other people who want you to dig in with them but you did both and you deserve every bit of happiness you feel. Sometimes the healthy choice is not even close to the fun choice but I think it’s worth feeling better in the long run!

  7. krisgetshealthy Says:

    Glad you stuck to your guns. We all have those pushers in our lives. They are saboteurs! I have family like that, they also think they can tell me what to order.
    Screw them!!! I really wish you had been able to attend the pfg event, Jen talked a little about people around you influencing your decisions and as you are on your journey sometimes you leave these ppl behind… I would have kicked ms chinese foods hiney!! Next time tell her she has to eat salad! 😀 I would it looked delish.
    You are worth it you can do this!! I am so proud of you!!!!!

  8. atastelife Says:

    Some things are worth the splurge…Chinese food is something that I try to “healthify” at home if I get the craving. When you make it at home – you’re the one in control.

    And I always bring my lunch if I’m going to a lunchtime meeting. Yes, people give me grief and yes people look at me weird, but hey – I’d rather splurge on a Friday night steak dinner…not greasy pizza that’s not even good at a meeting.

  9. April @ Crazy Fabulous Life Says:

    I’m so glad you didn’t give in to temptation. It’s definitely hard sometimes!

    But man, what’s up with your friend? Not cool. 😦

  10. Evan Thomas Says:

    I think I would choose the salad over chinese, too. Fresh vegetables have so much flavor. The only flavor most chinese food has is sodium.

    • kristisn Says:

      You are so right. After I eat chinese I seem to guzzle gallons of water after I eat it. I would much rather have a salad with great toppings and dressing.

  11. Alissa Says:

    Good job at staying determined- that is so hard to do- especially with people pressuring you! I LOOOOVE banana soft serve!

  12. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun Says:

    Good for you! You should do what you know will leave you feeling best. If you really, really wanted the Chinese – it’s true one day wouldn’t hurt. It’s important to balance fun meals in, but you shouldn’t eat it just bec its there and someone else wants you to.


Leave a Reply

