Biting my nails

If I was a nail biter, I would be biting my nails right now.

But since I’m not I’m having a little of this

Just a swig... or I mean a tad

in a little of that.

Coffee..it's much needed just about now

And what is making me drink at 4:00 in the afternoon?  Well, not that I need a reason, but tomorrow at 9:00 I will be interviewing for a new position.  I’ve been in the same job for 6 years, and though this job is in the same department, it is for a supervisors position.  I’m super nervous.  I don’t do well in interviews.  I get nervous.  My palms get sweaty and it’s hard to talk when my stomach feels like it’s in my throat.  Oh, and my mind often goes blank.  I’ve been trying to think of questions they might ask.  Think of all the things I remember to say.  Tonight is going to be a looooonnnnngggg night.  Please keep your fingers crossed for me.  And please don’t uncross them until tomorrow at 9:30.  Thank you 🙂

So let me move on to the food for the day.

Last night as I was running walking on the treadmill my Dad called me to say that the weatherman just didn’t know what the weather was going to do overnight.  We were supposed to get a wintery mix that would eventually turn to rain, but the roads were going to be unpredictable when I had to leave for work in the morning.  Rather than chancing it I decided to pack my things and head over to my friend’s house so that I could be close to work.

I packed my breakfast, snacks, and lunch

Packed and ready to go

and was ready to hit the road.

I don’t know about you, but when I stay somewhere else unexpected it throws my life a little out of whack.  I’m a planner.  I like structure.  I like my routine.  So when I woke up this morning, and had to drive into work in a little bit of icy conditions I figured that risking my life was worth a Starbucks.  Plus, I had a free coupon for a drink of my chosing from my birthday.  I decided to go with a white chocolate mocha.  Grande.  Regular.  With all the fat and calories that come along with it.  It was free.  It was for my birthday.  I was allowed to treat myself.  It also took place of my breakfast.  I went to work and logged it into my weight watchers tracker.  And for those of you that are wondering that drink was worth 13 points.   I will keep that in mind for future purchases.

For snack I had Chobani plain yogurt with a few nut clusters.

1/2 cup yogurt with 7 nut clusters= 5 points

Then my day got tricky….

You see I have a friend.  A guy friend at work.  The guy from my dinner date (if you have been reading you know a little about my friend).  We work out of the same building, but not always at the same time, so since we were both there during the day.  He brought me lunch.  Now I can easily say no to chinese leftovers, but I can’t say no to a lunch that was bought for me.  He brought me the best Cream of Crab soup from a little place called The Towne Mouse.

This is the BEST cream of crab soup

I estimated the soup to be about 10 points.  But then I had half of a steak and cheese.  Odd combination, but oh so good.  I estimated the sub to be 13 points.  Now this friend has no idea of my weight loss struggles.  It’s not something I share with a lot of people, and especially not a guy friend.  I went over my points for the day, but I logged everything I ate today.  I’m okay with it.  I used some of my weekly allowance points, but I still have a lot leftover.  I know that tomorrow I won’t be eating like I did today.  It goes back to not having the structure in the beginning of the day.  It throws my whole day off.  I saved the rest of the soup for this evening.  After my HUGE lunch, I don’t need too much this evening.

As I write this I can’t believe how honest I am being.  I thought about what I would write on my way home today.  Would I tell the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth.  Yes.  I had to.  I made a promise to myself that I would be completely honest from now on.  I will have good days.  I will have bad days.  I will have a good day (yesterday) and a bad day (today) back to back, but I’m learning.  I learn as I go.

4 Responses to “Biting my nails”

  1. krisgetshealthy Says:

    It is good to be honest, it sets you up for success. Things start over with the next decision and you will make the right one for you!
    The world didnt end when you had salad instead of chinese or starbucks soup and a cheesesteak instead of what you planned. Stand tall in your decisions you made yourself accountable for them with your points and start with the next decision.
    Believe it or not chickerdoodle You are doing this!!! Way to go!

  2. lauravirginia Says:

    That’s okay! I went out for ice cream with a friend tonight and I definitely over indulged, but I am glad that I got to spend time with her. Tomorrow is a new day!

  3. Alissa Says:

    I love your honesty! Some days I am embarassed to post what I ate- but it’s real and that’s just the way it is. I think you would find that MOST people don’t eat perfectly ALL the time. Besides, life is just that way- you have to live a little. So your guy friend wanted to have lunch with you- how could you not do that? I have a hard time with people who refuse social events, etc. because they don’t want to eat the food- come on- you have to live! If you don’t indulge now and then, you’ll never be able to do this for the rest of your life. 🙂 You’re doing fine! Just eat on track tomorrow.

  4. adventuresofpretendcook Says:

    Good luck with your interview! When I eat fatty foods, I sometimes feel the urge to not post what I eat. But healthy living is all about moderation, right?


Leave a Reply

