Learning as I go

I want to thank those of you who commented on my post yesterday.  I have to tell you it was a hard one to post.  I’m so embarrassed! I know I shouldn’t be, but I mean really how many people would like to admit they “sleep eat”. Ummm…. I would think no one.

One of the things I did yesterday after posting was throw the remainder of the chocolate in the house away.  I think it’s a trigger for me.  I had gotten some fun size candy bars (Three Musketeers and Clark bars) on clearance one day and threw them in the closet hoping that I wouldn’t really think about them and I could use them for a party or something.  Well forget, I did not.  I would sneak down and grab one or two of those little candy bars and eat them, and so yesterday I threw them in the trash.  It was so hard for me because I hate wasting food, but I just didn’t want them in the house for another minute.  My will power as you can tell is little to none when it comes to chocolate, so the best thing to do is… NOT BRING IT INTO THE HOUSE.  So that is one of my goals.  I’m ridding my house of “trigger” foods and not bringing them back in here.

Oh, sometimes it’s so hard to admit that you are weak.

Well, for food today…

I started the day with me a Green Monster.  My favorite way to make them is to use Laura’s recipe for a Peanut Butter Green Monster.

Peanut Butter Cup Green Monster

  • 1/2 Banana, sliced
  • 1 T Peanut Butter (or nut butter of your choice)
  • 1/2 Cup Dark Chocolate Almond Milk
  • 1/2 Scoop Vanilla Protein Powder
  • 2 Handfuls of Spinach

The only thing I changed was that I use 1 cup of milk instead of half a cup. I also make sure to process it for a while, maybe like five minutes.  I want to make sure my green monster is smmmoooottthhh.  I’ve been starting to experiment like yesterday and today I added some blueberries to the mix.  I’m not going to keep putting pictures up of my green monsters, because that could get a tad boring.

For lunch I’m having a salad.  Today’s mix is lettuce, apple, brown sugared peccans, 2 slices turkey bacon, and 2 tbs Trader Joe’s Spicy Peanut Vingarette dressing.

Snacks will include

1/2 cup Chobani yogurt, 1/2 cup blueberries, 1/8 cup glazed walnuts

pretzels w/ 1 tbs hummus... and yes those are Halloween pretzels. I hate wasting food.

Tangerines

For dinner I cooked up some tofu fried rice.  The tofu was ready made with caribean flavors.  I can’t wait to try it out later.  As I was figuring out the calories in the recipe, I went to Calorie King to see how many calories were in 1 1/2 cups of brown rice.  I was shocked when it came back with 1147 calories.  WWHHHHAAATTT?  Thankfully my friend rice is 3 servings, but wow.. when you see stats like that it makes you want to go hmmm….

Tofu Fried Rice

Dessert will be

In the exercise department…

I went to Curves for a little strength workout, followed up with 30 mins on the treadmill. 

So as I talk about being weak, I’m a little torn about something.  I think I decided to withdrawl from one of my classes.  I have felt like I was drowning in this course from day 1 and as I read over the course description once again, it stated that you need to spend at least 2 hours a day, 6 days a week in order to do average in this course.  Taking that course and three others, and everything else that happens in life I felt like it might be too much for me right now.  Has anyone else had to withdrawl from a course just because it seemed like too much at the time?  Or am I taking the easy way out?

5 Responses to “Learning as I go”

  1. erica@fashionmeetsfood Says:

    You are such an awesome eater.

    xo

  2. lauravirginia Says:

    So glad you have been loving the Green Monster. Yum!!!

  3. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun Says:

    You have to do what works best for you with the classes.

    And for the sleep eating…I have heard of it before certainly. Not crazy at all!

  4. Theresa @ This is my Hungry Face Says:

    I absolutely love that green monster recipe. I kind of burned out on them a few months ago, but that combination looks like it would get me back to eating them 🙂


Leave a Reply

