Happy Nutella World Day!

I can now officially say Happy Friday, since today is my Friday, but it is really Saturday ūüôā

This morning was spent preparing some of the food that I will be taking to my Superbowl party.

I’m going to bring a few things…cheese and crackers, meatballs, dessert, and whatever else I can make between today and tomorrow.

I wanted to make a barbecue sauce to go on the meatballs, and thought about a recipe I had that is made with homemade liqueur, which I just happen to have.

You start out with 8 oz tomato sauce ( I ended up doubling the recipe), and 1/2 cup homemade coffee liqueur.

Then add 1/4 cup chopped onion.

Next comes the 2 tbs Worcestershire sauce and 1 tbs lemon juice.

Finally, add 2 tbs flour, 1/2 tsp  salt, 1/4 tsp chili powder, and 1/4 tsp dried pepper.

Whisk it all together and bring to a boil over medium heat.

Once it boils; reduce heat to low and simmer, whisking occasionally 5 to 6 minutes.  Let it cool and store in an airtight container in fridge.

I can’t wait to put the sauce and meatballs in the slow cooker tomorrow…yum!

I also made Liz’s Peanut Butter Pretzels Bites.¬† I was a little worried about making them a day ahead, because I was worried that there wouldn’t be any left for tomorrow’s party.¬† I decided that as much as I want to try one, I’m not.¬† I’m going to wait until tomorrow.¬† That way I want be wanting to go back for more.

They definitely aren't as pretty as Liz's

Today’s eats…

Green Monster for breakfast.¬† I used up all my spinach and my bananas.¬† Wahhhhh!¬† Good thing I’m going to my parent’s house tomorrow morning for breakfast.¬† We are celebrating my Dad’s 59th birthday.

And being that today is World Nutella Day I decided my mid morning snack had to be something with Nutella. 

English muffin with about 1 tbs nutella, 1 tbs milk chocolate chips, and 1 few toffee bits

I heated it up in the microwave for about 20 seconds and viola… a yummy snack to go with my coffee.¬† I definitely have to put nutella¬†on my grocery list.¬† I don’t like being without Nutella.

For lunch I’m finally having my tofu fried rice.¬† Yes, I had Panera’s Thai chopped chicken salad for the third day in a row last night ūüôā

My snacks are basically a repeat of the past few days.  Yogurt with blueberries and hummus with pretzels.

For dinner…my mom called and asked me if I wanted some chili.¬† I never turn down food that I don’t have to make so of course I said yes.

Does anyone else like to see how far they can go without going to the grocery store?¬† I didn’t go to the store last week, and even though I’m running low, or really I’m out of fresh produce I always like to see what I can use up, and what recipe I can use with the ingredients I have on hand.¬† It sometimes turns into a challenge¬†with me.¬†

Exercise for the day… 40 mins on the treadmill.¬† And btw this is the fifth day this week I have exercised!¬† I feel so good!

That also means I’m sticking with my resolutions.

1) Make a new recipe a week.  I made 3!

2) Exercise at least four days.  I did 5!

Coffee Liqueur Barbecue Sauce

1 (8 oz) can tomato sauce

1/2 cup homemade coffee liqueur

1/4 cup chopped onion

2 tbs Worcestershire sauce

1 tbs fresh lemon juice

2 tbs hlour

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 chili powder

1/4 tsp dried crushed pepper

Whisk together ingredients in a medium saucepan.

Bring to a boil over medium heat; reduce heat to low, and simmer, whisking occasionally, 5 to 6 minutes or until slightly thickened. 

Cool completely before serving (about 30  minutes).

Store in airtight container in fridge up to 7 days.

Today is also National Fondue Day.¬† If I didn’t have to work , you would definitely find me at The Melting Pot celebrating the holiday.¬† Has anyone else gone there?¬† I love that restaurant.¬† I love the food.¬† I love that it takes you 2 hours to eat.¬† I love the exeperience.¬† It is definitely one of my fav restaurants.

5 Responses to “Happy Nutella World Day!”

  1. Kat Says:

    OMG, homemade BBQ sauce? I’m basically obsessed with that stuff and that recipe looks absolutely unholy. Love.

    Separately, why is it that World Nutella Day and Fondue Day happen at the same time???

    • kristisn Says:

      I was reading another blog today… I forget which one (sorry!) and it said that a few bloggers made the World Nutella Day so that everyone can enjoy Nutella together on the same day.

      I thought it was a little strange, too. I knew that it was National Fondue Day, but just found out about Nutella Day.

  2. Ex Yo-Yo Debbie Says:

    Nutella Day and National Fondue Day? Who knew?

    I was eating Nutella/peanut butter sandwiches a while ago – but I figured I’d better stop! I was just eyeing individual-serving sized Nutella packages the other day, thinking this might be a way to keep my consumption in check. Nutella is very easy to find in Russia (unlike many other things!)

    I will have to Google “The Melting Pot” – I wonder if they’re in FL?

    Thanks for all your support and comments on my blog – it means a lot to me.

  3. Laura Says:

    How good does that english muffin look? I cannot be trusted around Nutella!

    Congrats on meeting your resolutions… it takes a lot of effort to fit 5 workouts into one week so I hope you’re ridiculously proud of yourself!!


Leave a Reply

