Italian Sunday

So I woke up this morning determined that today was going to be a better day.

I had two meals that I was going to cook.  The first one was a recipe that I got out of the All You magazine, Slow-Cooker Bolognese Sauce.  I was excited to get the crock pot out and having a meal cooking all day.  I stopped by the grocery store to get some Italian bread.  I invited my friends Erin and Kris and their kids, and my friend Stacy.  I felt like it was going to be a good Sunday.  A big dinner with friends and family ala those Sunday Italian dinners, where you just have everyone around you.  I need people around me.

For the Bolognese Sauce…

I chopped a carrot, a ccelery stalk, and onions.

Melt a tbs of butter and cook everything from above picture for 5 minutes on medium heat.

Add ground beef, and turn heat to high.  Cook until the beef is no longer pink, about five minutes.

Next up add a cup of milk and a cup of white wine…bring to a boil.  Lower heat and cook at a lively simmer until most of the liquid has evaporated, about 15 mintues.

Transfer to a slow cooker, add 2 28 oz cans of crushed tomoatoes and let it simmer for the next 8 hours.

I knew what has been missing from my mornings and decided to make a Green Monster.  I haven’t had one in maybe a week and I knew that a Green Monster would make everything better.

Sorry for the ugly hair 🙂

Next up I made the garlic butter for the bread.

1 stick butter, 3 cloves garlic, and a few Italian spices

I blended it in a food processor to make a quick garlic spread.

I cleaned up the dining room, cleaned off the table so that the only center piece was the pink roses that were delivered to me on Friday when I was at work.  It made me feel so special, just knowing that someone cares.

Once all the food prep was done I decided to sit down and catch up on some blog reading.  I read Tina’s post on how other’s love you and how you need to let other’s love you.  I started crying.  Her blog spoke to me today.  I have the hardest time feeling like I’m worth the love others want to give.  I have the hardest time believing in the love that others want to give.  And right now when I feel so alone, I kind of need that reminder that I’m not.

And then 3 hours before dinner Kris calls to let me know that they got an unexpected to babysitter and he was taking Erin out for dinner for Valentine’s Day.  And I broke down in tears again.  I’m not upset.  They don’t owe me anything.  It is not there fought that I am craving company.  That I want to be surrounded by people who do care about me.

It seems like the tears come a little to easily these days.

So hopefully Stacy will be here to enjoy my dinner with me.  

The other recipe I made was Thai Beef Patties.  I’ll share that recipe when I actually eat it 🙂

Have a wonderful rest of your Sunday.

2 Responses to “Italian Sunday”

  1. Alissa Says:

    Awwww. 😦 How disappointing. I hope everything turned out ok. Sometimes I have such a hard time believing that I am lovable. But we are. We deserve love and need to learn to accept and love ourselves.

  2. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    oh dear, you are not alone. TRUST me, i think most of us have been there at some point or another. i know when i’m really busy and don’t get enough sleep, or even just time to relax, that’s when everything seems worse as well. make sure you take time to take care of yourself! 🙂


Leave a Reply

