Waving the white flag

Yesterday’s post I kind of waved the white flag and surrendered, admitting that I just didn’t even know where to begin with my weight loss journey.  I have been on diet after diet, pill after pill, anything you can imagine… I have started and I have failed.  Obviously all of the things that I tried doing, wasn’t what I needed.  Nothing ever stuck. 

I would calculate my points, for the things I had planned to eat, but what happened when I didn’t know the points of something I ate?  Well, if it was in the beginning of the week I would think all was lost, because my points would be off all week.  I don’t think I ever made it past Tuesday without waving the white flag, and thinking I would try again on Monday.

I would then start tracking my food with calories, but again I would plan out my food for the day… calculate all the calories, have everything added up, but then I would forget about the piece of candy I would eat… or I would have made dinner that I didn’t know the calories in and I would estimate, or I would just not worry about calculating them in.  And finally I would wave the white flag, and admit defeat.

Next, I would try taking a break, knowing that I have stressed myself out with eating and not eating, eating too much and eating too less, bingeing and not bingeing.  I would say that I know how to make right food decisions.  I know what’s good for me, and what’s not good for me.  I know that I need to watch my calories, limit my fat, limit my sugar.  I can lose weight without being on a diet.  I can do this.  And then my pants would begin feeling too tight, and again I would wave my white flag, knowing I had failed, yet again.

I’ve been baffled.  I know what I need to do, and yet I can’t do it.  Why?  Even with all the information I have, I couldn’t put that information into good use.

It was then that I read Mary’s blog at Fit this, girl.  Mary was talking about finding your BMR, which you can do here.  Your BMR is the calories your body needs to survive… no activity.  I then calculated how many calories I need to lead a  moderate activity life.  So with that I have my starting point…. Eureka!!!  Now to lose weight you need to have a deficit of 3,500 calories.  So if I need 2217 calories to maintain my current weight (yuck)… and I subtract 500 calories from that I could eat 1700 calories to lose a pound a week.  Now…. if I exercise and burn 500 calories a day, that would be two pounds a week.  I know what your thinking…. everyone knows this.  It’s not like it takes a rocket scientist, but honestly… I hadn’t thought about it in this way.  Subtracting 500 calories a day seems…. doable, right?  Burning 500 calories working out… also doable, and dare I say not that scary.  I feel a bit relieved…. like I found the secret, though I know it’s no secret.  I feel like this is something I can do.  It doesn’t seem like that impossible challenge that has been haunting me for so many years. 

I can do this, and I can stop waving the white flag.

8 Responses to “Waving the white flag”

  1. lauravirginia Says:

    Way to go! You can do it, I believe in you!!! 😀

  2. Jess Says:

    good attitude- you can do it!

  3. Angela (the diet book junkie) Says:

    love that attitude, girl! 1-2lbs a week sounds totally doable! one thing that really helped me was staying hydrated (everything works better that way) and only eating foods i REALLY wanted vs. foods that were just kinda there. if you’re watching your calories, it’s not worth using them on something that’s only half satisfying, ya know? 🙂

  4. Alissa Says:

    You can do this!! You just have to find what works for you and what is sustainable in the long run. 🙂

  5. Laura Says:

    I feel like this post is dripping with inspiration! Your goal of 1-2 lbs a week is well within your reach… you have the information… you have the attitude… you WILL do it!!

    • kristisn Says:

      Thank you!!! I know I can do this… I have to remember that going at it slow is just as good. I’m one of those instant gratification kind of people, but knowing that I didn’t get like this over night… I’m not going to undo this over night either.


Leave a Reply

