Whoa Sugar!

After the epiphany that I had last night (I know, I know… it’s stuff that we learned back in the third grade)… I woke up this morning rejuvenated.  I woke up thinking to myself, I can do this.  I think breaking it down helped me a lot.  I decided that I was going to cut 500 calories from the calories I need to maintain this weight.  500 calories… that doesn’t seem like so much.  That doesn’t make me worry about starving all day.  500 calories are the treats I really shouldn’t have been eating every day.

I woke up and had a green monster and coffee for breakfast.  That kept me pretty satisfied for a few hours, and when it was snack time I had plain greek yogurt, 1/2 banana and glazed walnuts.  That is my favorite snack.  I eat as much of the yogurt and bananas I can and then eat the glazed walnuts at the end.  I love saving the best for last 🙂

Lunch was a roast beef sandwich and 1 oz potato chips (I need to use them up and get them out of my house).  Do you try to eat up the food that you have on hand when your trying to change your diet or do you throw the bad food out??

Roast beef sandwich with salt and pepper chips

Cutting 500 calories makes you ask yourself… do you really need that 1 oz of cheese worth 110 calories on your sandwich?  Will your sandwich be just as good without?  Chips or cheese???  Chips, in this case.  Maybe next time it’ll be the cheese.  It’s all about learning to compromise with yourself.

Myafternoon snacks consisted of

Iced coffee

Grapes and oranges minus the apple

I didn’t have them together though.  I don’t think coffee and fruit really go together.

And for dinner…

Trader Joe's Chicken Cilantro Mini Wontons

Miniwontons with a side of green beans and mushrooms

YUMMY!  This dinner was soo good, and under 350 calories. Yessss!

I stayed on target today and even had 200 calories left over for dessert.  1/2 cup of ice cream here I come!

I tracked everything today… calories, fat, carbs, protein, fiber, and sugar.  The thing that I was most shocked at was my sugar intake… 97.5 grams of sugar in one day.  Whhhhaaaatttt?????  I have to admit that I knew that fruit has a lot of sugar in it, but seeing it on paper… wow…that is too much sugar for one day.

All in all it was a good day. I know that every day isn’t going to be like this, and I will have struggles, but for some reason… this all seems so much more manageable than it did a month ago, a week ago, even a day ago.  I think that breaking it down into smaller goals for the day has helped a lot.

In the exercise department I stopped by Curves after dropping Justine off at school, and then when I got home I hopped on the treadmill for 30 minutes.  My goal was to burn 500 calories.  It wasn’t what I did, or how long I did it, just as long as I got to 500 calories… and that’s what I did.

7 Responses to “Whoa Sugar!”

  1. Jess Says:

    good job girl!

  2. adventuresofpretendcook Says:

    I don’t really worry about throwing “bad” foods out because I try not to think of food in those terms. But there are certain foods that I try not to keep around because I have a tendency to eat too many of them. Like sweets, for instance. I haven’t baked in a while and I don’t bake sweet goods that often because they are big trigger foods for me.

  3. Jackie @ Baking Charms Says:

    You’re doing great lady! Fruit is definitely one of those unexpected sugar traps.

  4. Laura Says:

    Fruit and fruit-flavored yogurt are so deceiving hey?! At least you know!

    • kristisn Says:

      Oh my gosh.. I don’t eat fruit flavored yogurt very often. I had a free coupon for a fruit on the bottom yogurt and oh my goodness that thing is packed with sugar. I’ll never ever get that again. Coupon or no coupon. The things you learn (or the things I should have known)!

  5. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun Says:

    I don’t worry too much about sugars from fruit. That’s just me though. I need my fruit! LOL

    And also – small changes like 500 calories work. They add up big and help with consistency. Great decision. 🙂

    • kristisn Says:

      I’ll have to find a good balance with fruits…
      I think it is so much easier to think small goals, rather than huge ones. It seems so much more manageable.


Leave a Reply

