Early morning

What does one do when they wake up at 3 in the morning?

I tossed and turned.

I willed myself to fall back asleep.

I turned the tv on, and then muted it knowing the whole time that having the tv on was the wrong thing to do.

I got up and changed a few things on my blog.

I read a few blogs.

I read a little of this book…

I must say that this book is pretty good.  I wasn’t sure what to expect when I got it, but I had heard good things about it, and it’s a page turner.  I read as much as I can everyday.

I tried again to will myself back to sleep… and finally I did.

Waking up a few hour later was a little difficult.

For breakfast I had egg beaters on a sandwich thin, with a wedge of laughing cow cheese and some papaya hot sauce.

Not getting a lot of sleep might also be why my workout felt more like torture today.  I started with my Zumba dvd.  I loved taking Zumba class when I had a membership to my YMCA, but doing the video isn’t the same.  I did 25 minutes and realized I hadn’t burned half the calories I should have, and I wasn’t enjoying the workout.  I stopped and decided to finish it up on the treadmill.  Ugh!  I looked at my watch about every 30 seconds.  I ran… I walked… I stopped thinking that maybe today just wasn’t one of my days.  I have a goal.. 500 calories a day.  I hummed and hawed and moaned and groaned, and after walking most of my workout I finished up with 60 minutes of working out and 501 calories burned.  Success!

After working out I had 1/2 cup of plain greek yogurt and a few Nature Valley nut clusters.

Lunch was a mexican kind of salad.  It consisted of romaine lettuce, guacamole, salsa, ranchero chicken, and a few crunched up tortilla chips… fabulous!

I’m not sure what’s going to be for dinner.  We’ll be headed to the grocery store.  I’m thinking it will be a sushi and soup kind of night.

And I went on Wegman’s website which has all of it’s nutrition info on it.  I printed off the soup list to take with me so I can check the calories once I know what soups are available.

Soup nutritional info

You can’t say that I’m not prepared! 🙂

5 Responses to “Early morning”

  1. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel Says:

    thats really funny that you mention reading and falling back asleep. i get the same way- if i cant sleep i will nose dive into a book in the middle of the night and will myself to sleep…when i eventually fall asleep and then awake later to realize i fell back asleep, it makes me happy…but then i try to get up and its almost impossible. u feel so groggy and its so hard to get going again.

    xoxo

  2. Megan Pence Says:

    I totally know how you feel about the knowing you haven’t worked out as hard or as much as you could have at other settings. When I am working out around other people I get so much more out of it than I do when I work out alone. There was a statistic in Women’s Health that confirm that, with 25% more calories burned when we work out with others. Nothing like a little competition!

    And thanks for your comment, I’m glad I’m not the only World Market nut! haha

  3. Christina Says:

    I love zumba! I take a class at the gym every Monday..it is so fun and the instructor cracks me up! 🙂

  4. Kat Says:

    Lady, I so agree with how sleep can affect a workout. I know that for me, I ended up not hitting the treadmill today because I only got ~2 hours. It was definitely a case of wants v. reality.

    Separately, go you, printing off the Wegman’s nutritionals.

  5. Laura Says:

    I love the blog updates! It looks really fresh…

    I saw Nicole Richie doin’ a few promo interviews for that book but haven’t it in the store yet… I’ll be on the lookout now that I hear it’s worth it!!


Leave a Reply

