Hawaii Part I

Soooooo I’m back!!!!

Last Wednesday we were on a flight over to Hawaii!

Justine wasn't trying to take a good picture 🙂

I’m one of those paranoid types who didn’t want to say where I was going until I got back… just in case.

For those of you who don’t know my sister and her family live over in Hawaii, so we usually go over once a year.  This is actually Justin’se 7th time going.

One of the first things we did once we were over there was take a hike up a mountain to see a light house.  We went in the morning and it was a beautiful day.

The hike was 2 miles up

The best part of the hike was looking out into the ocean and seeing whales!  Lots of whales.  We were all screaming when we saw one.  I think it’s between Jan and April where whales are the most active and where you can see them the most in Hawaii.  They were so quick though I didn’t get any pictures of them 😦

The light house

It was pretty windy on the top of the mountain

It also rained for a few minutes while we were on the way up which lead to this…

Rainbow

For dinner that night we went to a luau which just happens to be at our hotel, and one of the best ones around.

One of the entertainers climbing up a coconut tree

A pig they dug up from the pit where it was cooking

Sorry….for all of you animal lovers out there!!!!!

The rest of the pictures are a little too dark to be posting, but they had great dancers.  The fire dancers were my absolute favorite!

That was our first full day on the island so we were in bed a little early only to be woken up to alarms sounding in the city and my phone ringing from friends back home calling about the Tsunami that they were warning Hawaii about.  It was pretty scary.  They would go over the intercom system in our hotel about the evacuation Waikiki was under.  We were thankfully on the 6th floor so we didn’t have to evacuate, but we did have to stay in our room.  It was wild not seeing anyone on the streets of Waikiki, only cop cars… fire trucks… and about a hundred boats out in the ocean.  Thankfully it wasn’t much more than a few strong waves.  What a night though!

That’s the first part of my Hawaiian vacation.  I missed the blog world… I’m trying to catch up on all my blog reading… my google reader is at 812.  Phew!  I can’t wait to see all that I missed.

7 Responses to “Hawaii Part I”

  1. Laura Says:

    I can’t believe you were there for the Tsunami! I like to think I would have stayed calm through something like that, but who knows…

    I can’t wait to hear more about your trip!!

    • kristisn Says:

      Oh, I was a little stressed that night, but not as bad as I thought I would be. I guess I figured that since we had so much warning we probably weren’t going to see much.

  2. Jess Says:

    Beautiful pics, and so lucky for getting to go so much!!
    Don’t you just love returning to a reader with hundreds of posts? haha.

  3. Kat Says:

    Lady! I’m so glad that you were safe while you were in Hawaii! And, obviously that you had a wonderful time 🙂

    And I’m totally with you – it’s never a bad thing to keep an absence like that secret.

  4. krisgetshealthy Says:

    So glad you were safe!! Omg! I can’t imagine being there during that. Looks like a great trip. Welcome back to the real world. 😦

  5. erica@fashionmeetsfood Says:

    Looks like a fun trip and thankfully Hawaii didnt get hit with the Tsunami that they were calling for!

    xo


Leave a Reply

