Hello Friends

I can not believe how long it has been since I blogged.  It feels like forever.  As much as I missed blogging, I had so much going on in my life… work drama, relationship drama, switching to the midnight schedule, and school I was starting to feel a little overwhelmed.  My journey to a healthy lifestyle took a detour, and I lost sight of my goals.  After reading some blogs, I realize I’m not the only one.  I also realize that I’m not a failure (like I was thinking).  I only fail if I allow this detour to break me. 

So today here I sit multitasking.  I’m watching Man on Fire (love this movie), writing this blog, and tackling this humongous load of laundry.  It’s clean, just has to be put away.

Mt Laundry

To get my eating back on track I’ve been starting every morning with a green monster.

A new combo for me strawberry and banana

Add ins: Vanilla Almond protein mix, chia seeds, and coconut nectar

Delicious

I went back to what I knew for a snack and had plain greek yogurt, banana, and glazed walnuts.  I will never get tired of this combo.

I honestly can’t say what happened to my eating habits.  I would be embarrassed to tell you all the junk I’ve been eating lately.  I guess after I got back from vacation I just never was able to get back into the routine I used to be in.  This is a new month, a new start, its time to stop making excuses, and time to get back on track.

For lunch (I say lunch because it’s my lunch, but I’m eating it at everyone else’s dinner time) I decided to try a recipe that had been on my must try list.  Jessica’s Caramelized Chicken with Mushroom Sauce.

I started out with thinly cut chicken breast and flour.  I dredged each chicken piece in the flour while I was waiting for the olive oil to heat up.

Saute the chicken 4 minutes on each side

I cooked the onions and mushrooms

Add wine

And can I just add that any recipe that gives me a reason to open a bottle of wine I already love 🙂

Jessica’s recipe cause for bread, but since I didn’t have any I decided to pair it with a 1/2 cup of baked black beans that needed to be eaten.  I also decided to finish up Justine’s pizza just incase I really needed bread (which I didn’t). I guess it was a day for old and new.  Sometimes i feel accomplished when i get rid of a few containers in my fridge.

All I can say is fabulous.

11 Responses to “Hello Friends”

  1. Laura Says:

    I just bought that Vanilla Almond Vega too! Great minds think alike 🙂

  2. Sarah Says:

    I am right there with ya on the junk food.. You did see my post where I confessed to eating a whole bag of mini marshmallows, right?! lol.. but you are totally right.. you are getting back on track, and that’s all that matters.. 🙂

    Good for you!

  3. annecalista Says:

    Your green monster looks delicious! And it’s never to late to try to get back into healthy habits 🙂 Good for you.

  4. adventuresofpretendcook Says:

    Welcome back!

    I just tried strawberry and banana for the first time too . . . I also added white chocolate peanut butter to the mix. So good.

  5. Kat Says:

    Lady, for me the key is DEFINITELY habitual eating. Yes, I eat exclusively in breakfast ruts (egg on english muffin! banana oats! apple pie oats!) but besides the predictability, it’s just plain delicious. No shame!

  6. Sarah (Running To Slow Things Down) Says:

    Love your attitude, girl! And your eats look fabulous. 😀

  7. atastelife Says:

    I have that recipe in my stack of “things to make”….this just reminded me that I need to make it. Like now.

  8. Mari Says:

    Sometimes life can get in the way of blogging and I am sure we have all been embarrassed about what we ate at one time of another (I am guilty of late night booty calls to papa john’s haha)

    I start every day with a gm too!

    • kristisn Says:

      Life has definitely gotten in the way of blogging lately. I’m defintely trying to get my routing back. Life runs much more smoothly when you have a routine.

  9. Katie Says:

    KRISTI!!!!!!!

    Your comments were in my spam! I feel like the biggest jerk : p you must of thought I was just ignoring you, I had a couple other blog friends too that had their comments in spam, and it was a couple readers who always comment, and I have not heard from them in a while, and now I know why! Their comments were in spam, my spam box gets SO full with nonsense so I just never checked it regularly and now I will! Have a beautiful day love!!! Thank you for telling me about your comments not showing, now I know ; ) they are showing now! xoxo


Leave a Reply

