You can call me cheap

My day was spent sipping on a green monster

and

cutting coupons

I’ve always been a coupon cutter, and I’ve always loved going to the grocery store and seeing how much money I can save.  With TLC’s new show Extreme Couponing it did give me a few tips on how to expand my savings.  Will I go through the store with 4 carts and buy 250 toothbrushes?  Probably not.  Will I buy four boxes of cereal… maybe.  Here’s the thing.  Times are rough.  The other day I filled my car up with gas and spent $61… that’s more than I have ever paid for gas at one time.  My heart sunk.  If gas is supposed to rise $1.00 to $1.50 more a gallon over the summer… I don’t know what I will do.  If I can now buy items with coupons and sales and not have to worry about those items come summer… than that’s one less worry for me.  Really I’m not sure I’ll be able to grocery shop if gas gets close to $5.00 a gallon.  I can buy essentials and that will be it.  So the thing is.. it might seem a little excessive to some, but to me it’s thinking ahead. 

Since I love my yogurt combo of plain yogurt, banana and glazed walnuts so much I decided to eat it out of a heart-shaped bowl.

Lunch is the last of the leftover pizza.

Yum!

I love pizza, but I don’t love having to have it over a few days.  I don’t waster food though, so I’ll eat in until it’s gone.

Snacks will be

Carrots with Sabra Olive hummus, cantaloupe, and mousse temptation

Dinner is chicken tortilla soup that I made the other day.   The soup is so- so. I wasn’t too impressed with the recipe so I threw the recipe away.  I have too many recipes to try to save one that I’m not impressed with.

Tomorrow I’m going to start tracking my calories again and start my workout’s back up.  I’ve been slacking long enough.  One thing I am truly afraid of is getting on the scale.  I do not want to see those numbers, but I feel I need to see where I’m starting at.  I’m never been more terrified of the scale than I am right now.  I need to realize that I have the power to change the number scale.  The numbers will not change on their own.

8 Responses to “You can call me cheap”

  1. Alissa Says:

    I love couponing- I save a lot of money doing that when I have the time!

  2. Laura Says:

    “The numbers will not change on their own. ” ——–> sad, but true. I don’t even want to think about what I would eat if they could change on their own! I think what you’re doing with the coupons is super smart and responsible… and I need to do the same! Gas is ridiculous here too now… we pay by the litre and it’s jumped 30 cents per litre since I moved here mid-January.

  3. Kat Says:

    I used to coupon, but they don’t do them at ALDI or Trader Joe’s so, that basically went out the window…Go figure. I think if you’re buying things that are useful to you, then by all means, do.

    • kristisn Says:

      I definitely don’t use coupons just to use them. I buy things that I need and I might have a few bottles of this or that, but at least that’s one less thing I need to worry about! And Justine loves couponing with me 🙂

  4. Kelly Says:

    Kristisn, I coupon more so now than I ever used to before. Gas has reached $4 a gallon here by me. sad.

  5. The Ginger Wife Says:

    girl, good work on looking ahead already. I cry every time I fill up and it’s over $50.00.

    We bought the Sunday paper specifically just for the coupons – I’m not insane on couponing, but any little bit helps. There are a few websites with lots of tricks and insider deals on couponing I can pass along to you if you would like it!


Leave a Reply

