Picky Palate

Yesterday Justine requested pancakes for breakfast and being the wonderful mother I am I happily obliged.  I got out one of my recipe books and whipped up a batch of homemade pancakes.  She had eaten about half of the pancakes I gave her when she declared they “were gross”.  She has a picky palate, so I didn’t take too much offense.  I figured it might have been the whole wheat flour.  I put them in the fridge and figured I would being eating pancakes for the next few days.

thursday 001

They don’t look gross I thought.

thursday 002

I topped them with Roasted Pecan Syrup and took my first bite.  They weren’t gross, but they weren’t good either.  Something was missing.  What, I don’t know.  I have three days to figure it out while I finish up the rest of the pancakes.  I don’t like to waste food.

After Justine and I hit up a few stores to practice our couponing skills I got home and decided that baking was in order.

I had three bananas sitting on my counter browning… I think because I ran out of spinach.

I thought and thought and remembered a recipe that I had seen over at healthyfoodforliving.  Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Muffins…yum.  These muffins were calling my name.  One of the best things about cooking with bananas is mashing of the bananas.  It’s kind of a stress release for me.

thursday 004

I followed her recipe step by step and this is what came out…

thursday 005

Don’t they look delicious.  I used Spark Recipes and figured that each muffin would be 92 calories.. 2 grams fat..2.1 grams fiber..2.2 grams protein.. 7.8 grams sugar.  That’s for 18 muffins which is what I made.  Do you want me to post this recipe??

The rest of my eats for the day have been pretty much a repeat of the week.  Lasagna, salad, hummus with carrots, tangerines. 

The snacky bug has finally left the building… I hope.

Today turned into an unattended rest day.  I have talked a little about this before but I suffer from depression and panic disorder.  My doctor has been trying to get my medicines right so that I no longer have panic attacks.  If you haven’t had them… it is the worst feeling in the world.  The other night I was sitting in bed and my heart started pounding, my hands started shaking, I broke into a cold sweat.  I thought I was going to pass out.  I thought about Justine waking up and finding me laying on the ground somewhere.  I started to panic.  After having a few of these I know what’s going on… does that make them any less frightful… no, but I can try and talk myself down from getting a full blown panic attack which has lead me to getting a ride in an ambulance.  With these new medicines I get tired, and it doesn’t help that I’m working the midnight shift which totally disrupts your body.  For the past week I have been battling exhaustion.  I know it’s from the medicine/schedule, and I know that I need to give myself a break.  I didn’t want to give myself a rest day today when I knew I would be having one on Saturday, but I also couldn’t find the energy to start a workout.  Tomorrow is another day.

In other news… I didn’t tell you guys but I was won another prize from Blog For A Change, and I received my package today.

thursday 006

Four new workout videos with Jari Love!

thursday 007

Burn up to 1,000 calories in a workout.  Yes, please!  I will be trying this one out tomorrow.  I can’t wait to see how many calories I’ll actually burn.

thursday 008

thursday 009

thursday 010

I’m so excited to try out these workout videos… I feel like I’m on a lucky streak.  Maybe I need to go play the lottery????

18 Responses to “Picky Palate”

  1. Alexa @ SimpleEats Says:

    Those muffins sound great! Let us know how those videos go!

  2. workingmomworksout Says:

    The pancakes look good to me.. I’ve made some like that before thought – Looked much better than they tasted.

  3. Jess@atasteofconfidence Says:

    Excited to see how much you will burn, too- I’m always looking for new DVDs!

  4. Hungry Dancer Says:

    Those DVD’s look awesome!! Thats a great win!!

  5. krisgetshealthy Says:

    buy me a lottery ticket!!
    congrats on the win!!

  6. Alissa Says:

    What a great giveaway to win!! I hope that you can get everything figured out with your medicines- those attacks sound scary!

  7. Cara @ Chic Meets Healthy Says:

    girl you need to start playing the lottery! you are so lucky! and roasted pecan syrup!? can i come over for breakfast?!

  8. Can You Stay for Dinner Says:

    Roasted pecan syrup? What?! Sounds delish!

    Good luck with the DVDs!

  9. fashionfitnessfoodie Says:

    Yes, i think you should go play the lottery!!! That would be awesome if you won 🙂 Would you still blog?

    I think you should also post that recipe ASAP.

  10. Jasmine @ Eat Move Write Says:

    Yay!!! I’m so glad you got your DVDs! I hope you enjoy them so much.

    I cracked up when you said your bananas have turned brown because you ran out of spinach – only a blogger!

  11. Simply Life Says:

    wow! those muffins look delicious!


Leave a Reply

