You got To be kidding

Does anyone remember Book It from school?

You would read and fill out a worksheet that you turn into your teacher and you teacher turns around and gives you free pizza… well at least a coupon for one.

yellow12 006

Can you believe that the program is still going on?

When Justine started bringing home the worksheets she had to fill out to get her coupon I started thinking about all those times I read and read so I could get my own personal pan pizza.

Justine and I had dentist appointments today and since Pizza Hut is right down the road, I figured today was a good day to use one of her coupons.

We decided to eat in, instead of carry out.

I ordered the pizza rollers.  Yum!  These things are so good.  After eating a breadstick or two I only had room for one so I brought the others home.

yellow12 001

Once I got home and started looking up the calories of the food I ate I realized I ate almost my whole day of calories in one meal.  I used calorie king for the nutritional information.

Are you kidding me???

I’m not going to not eat the rest of the day, but I am going to be conscious to eat on the lighter side.

I guess I should have looked up the calorie info before I went because I definitely would have changed my mind on what I wanted to order.  This is another reason why I am all for the calories being on the menu.  At least then you know what you are eating, rather than trying to ignore it.

Tonight is my last night working the midnight shift.  Woot woot!  I can’t wait.  This week has been rough sleep wise and a good night’s sleep is much needed.

5 Responses to “You got To be kidding”

  1. Vanessa @ Gourmet Runner Says:

    Yikes! Crazy calories in those guys! I used to LOVE Book-It! It was really motivation for me to read!
    🙂

  2. Kat Says:

    Yay for this being your last midnight shift!

    I absolutely LOVED the Book It program but in light of all of the terrible crap they try to push on kids these days, I’m kind of horrified that it’s still around, you know?

    • kristisn Says:

      I loved the book it program, too.
      My daughter isn’t as excited about it as I was, but it just took me back to grade school when I saw those coupons coming home.

  3. Lauren Says:

    I can’t believe Book it program is still going on! I loved it 🙂


Leave a Reply

