It’s time to try something new

I decided I was going to try something new this morning.

You see for the past few days my anxiety has been through the rough, and not for any real reason.  It’s just part of the panic disorder that I have.  I walk around all with my heart pounding, and feeling like I can’t catch my breath.  The whole time I feel on the verge of a panic attack, and I have to constantly talk myself down, knowing that this is all part of my anxiety.

I’m constantly in contact with my doctor, so deep down I know that everything is okay with me.  It’s just tiring and for the past few days, I’ve been tired.

My doctor has given me the medicines I need to try and get in under control, but I realized yesterday that I need to work on the things I can control.  The things that I put into my body.  I know that caffeine doesn’t help with my heart beating, so why am I drinking coffee every morning?

Well, this morning I’m not.

I decided to do a little experiment and drink tea in the morning, instead of coffee and see how I feel.

Sunday 002

Maple Tea.  I love maple flavored anything, so why not tea?

I’m going to see how this goes for about a week, and then looking at changing the next thing.  I really would not like to see myself taking medicines for the rest of my life, so if I can make lifestyle changes that will help with my anxiety… I’m not sure what I was waiting for.

I finally tried my Banana Cinnamon Blondie by Blog is the New Black.

Sunday 001

It was really good.  Nice and moist.  I think that I cooked it a tad too long.  The recipe said to bake it for 20-25 minutes, so after 20 I checked it and the middle was still runny.  I decided to cook it for another 15.  I think next time I need to cook something longer I’ll try increments of five minutes.

Yesterday we had a pizza and ice cream party at my mom’s.  I had my camera with me to take pictures, but sadly no pictures were taken. 

My mom made the pizza and it was fantastic.  It had an assortment of ham, mini pepperonis, peppers, onions, and pineapple.  Delicious.

And for ice cream I had a weight watchers ice cream candy bar.  It tasted just like a snickers ice cream bar with probably half the calories.  We spent some time outside with my niece and nephew and took the kids over to the lake to feed the fish.  It was a beautiful day outside and I’m glad that I got to enjoy it with the family.  It was a prefect Saturday afternoon.

Once we got home my guy called to see if we wanted to go to Chuck E Cheese.  My first thought… Are you kidding me?  On a Saturday night? But then I saw how excited Justine was at the thought of going and decided to put my big girl panties on and go.  At least they have beer.  It wasn’t as bad as I thought.  We had some pizza and some wings.  I had a beer and we got to play some games.  I know Justine had a ball and that’s really all that matters.

Even though it’s only 9:00 a.m.  I’ve been busy in the kitchen getting my dinner ready for this evening.  Sadly I have to go back to work this afternoon.  Booooo!

My dinner will be

Sunday 003

Romaine lettuce, onions, carrots, with Lemon Brown Sugar chicken (another recipe from Blog is the New Black), wonton strips, and Honey Dijon dressing.

I’ll have to see what else I can find to pack to take with me.

Enjoy the rest of your Sunday!

How was everyone else’s weekend?  What was the best part?

9 Responses to “It’s time to try something new”

  1. littlehealthjunkie Says:

    Mmm it looks like you’ve got a great weekend planned! Sorry you have to go back to work on this sunday! Have a great one though:)

  2. Laura Says:

    I flew in late last night so I think the best part of my weekend will be restocking my produce drawers/fruit basket for the week ahead! I love grocery shopping and I need to start making daily salads like yours above!!

  3. Jackie @ Baking Charms Says:

    My mom doesn’t drink coffee for that exact reason and has tea every morning.. I hope it helps you feel better!!

  4. Kat Says:

    This weekend? I have no idea what the best part was…probably trying the African food since that was the most relaxing/least assuming part 🙂

  5. Alissa Says:

    I took my nephews to Chuck E Cheese a couple of weeks ago. They LOVED it. So much fun! 🙂


Leave a Reply

