my favorite combo

Well, the past 2 days didn’t turn out quite as I expected.

The mini- vacay that I had decided on taking Monday, didn’t happen.

On Tuesday my work called me to say one of my employees had called in sick.  My job is a critical position so we have to have a minimum of two people working at a time.  So when the employee called out it meant that either I had to go to work, or someone was going to have to be held over making them work a 12 hour shift.  I wasn’t going to put someone else out so I decided to go into work.  Work wasn’t as bad as it was on Monday, but then there was a call out on the next shift which meant I was there for and extra four hours.

That meant I worked 2:30 pm until 3:00 am. 

I ended up getting to sleep about 4:30 am.  Got back up at 7:30 so I could drive Justine to school, and spent the rest of the morning napping.

I had taken Tues off, but again was called because the same person had called out.

So that was the past two days for me, and the reason why I didn’t get a post done yesterday.

I love my job for the most part, but being in a critical position kind of stinks sometimes.  You always have to be prepared to be called in early or to stay late, or to go in on your day off. 

Hopefully today no one will call in and I’ll finally get my day off.

This morning I tried a new breakfast a Cake Batter Smoothie which I found over at Kaitlin with Honey’s blog.  Into the food processor went

5 ice cubes

1/4 uncooked oats

2/3 cup unsweetened almond milk

2/3 frozen banana

1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder

1/2 tsp. vanilla

dash of cinnamon

wed 004

I topped it off with Artisana’s Cacao Bliss Coconut Butter.

wed 002

A few weeks ago I received a package from Artisana with a few samples of their products and am finally getting around to trying it. 

The Cacao Bliss was good.  I’m in love with any and everything coconut, so this was the perfect chocolate-y/coconut-y combo.  I actually started digging around my smoothie to get to the Cacao Bliss since it was my favorite part of breakfast Smile  If I were to add it to something cold again I would definitely heat it up some so I could drizzle it on top of my whole breakfast it gets pretty hard.

This will be a product that I will definitely keep on hand.  I think it would be good on top of anything… oats, ice cream, toast… the list could go on and on.  This will be added to my list of favorite condiments.

I’m off to tackle my ever growing to- do list.  I hope to get a lot crossed off by the afternoon.

Do you keep a to do list?  Is it weird that mine never ends.  I cross one thing off and then add about 10 more. 

5 Responses to “my favorite combo”

  1. Lori Says:

    Ugh – your hours make me VERY happy of my 9-5 job. I will never complain. My brother used to work a swing shift – some weeks overnights, some normal. The mix in the schedule made it difficult to do anything but work. It took it’s toll on him.

    To-do lists – oh yeah – I would be LOST without them. I was just thinking this morning how I have to carry it around with me because at the strangest times I think “Oh yeah, I have to add that to my list”… :o)

    • kristisn Says:

      My work schedule it the worst. I have times where I have to work the midnight schedule, and it really takes a toll on my body. Plus having to work holidays is kind of rough sometimes.
      I’m glad to know that I’m not the only one that survives on to- do lists 🙂

  2. Laura Says:

    I like it best when I blend it with a couple of frozen bananas… it’s like chocolate ice cream!

  3. fashionfitnessfoodie Says:

    that sounds so amazing! i want it for lunch 🙂


Leave a Reply

