Something new

Isn’t it funny how a place could be a mile from your house, but for the few years you lived near it you have never stepped foot inside. 

Saturday I really wanted some barbecue… some chicken, greens, baked beans… all the goodness that I can make, but it just never tastes as good as when I get it from a barbecue restaurant.  I drive by Crazy Cajun everyday.  It’s about a mile from my house, but I have never thought about going there.  I have a thing about eating out.  I like to eat with people, not just me and Justine.  Saturday though it was all I could think about.

After stopping there in the morning to pick up a menu, I studied that thing all day. They had so many good food options.  Ribs, chicken, brisket, seafood, sides.  I was drooling the whole day.

I decided to get half a chicken greens, baked beans, and a little bit of brisket on the side. 

It was so much food that I’m still eating the leftovers.  Which brings me to my dinner.

foodie 002

I measured out 4 oz. of chicken and drizzled a little barbecue sauce on the top, baked beans, and greens… yum!  This is the best dinner.  I could eat this food for days… and I probably will! Smile

For dessert

foodie 005

PB chocolate cupcakes.  I brought some to share with my co-workers.

My snack…

foodie 006

Guac and tortilla chips… it’s avocado, so it’s okay to eat twice a day, right???

foodie 003

And finally Chobani Pineapple yogurt with some nut clusters to mix in.  I’ve never had Pineapple yogurt some expect my review tomorrow!

I’m trying something new.  I haven’t been tracking my food for days.  It’s not that I don’t want to know what I’m eating or how many calories I’m taking in, but I want to get a healthy relationship with food.  I don’t want to have to measure my food to make sure that I’m not eating too much of one thing or too little with another.  I want to listen to my body.  I want to eat when I am hungry.  I want to eat whatever it is I feel like eating at that moment, not what I have planned for lunch or dinner or a snack.  I want to know how my body feels when I eat whole food, and how it feels when I eat something that doesn’t agree with my body.  I’m starting to write down things that I eat and how they make me feel.  When I get a craving for something that might not agree with me I want to be able to look and remind myself that it might not be the right decision.  It’s about learning to listen to my body and trusting that it won’t steer my wrong.

5 Responses to “Something new”

  1. Katie Says:

    Listen to your body! EXACTLY! I love that you do! I always listen to my body with eating and exercise!

    Hope your mother’s day was beautiful!!!!!! xoxoxo

  2. Tessa @ Amazing Asset Says:

    This is exactly what I need to learn how to do too! Listening to your body and not constantly counting and calculating is normal and the way to go 🙂

  3. Kat Says:

    I think the idea of food journaling and writing down the feelings that go with each food are SUCH a smart idea in terms of starting to intuitively eat. I LOVE that idea. Especially since sometimes after lunch, I just feel gnarly.

  4. Laura Says:

    I tried that pineapple Chobani for the first time on my trip and I think you’re gonna love it!!


Leave a Reply

