Bye bye Frappe

Yesterday evening one of the guys at work was going to Starbucks.

And so of course I gave him a pleading look until he asked me what I wanted.

“Mocha Coconut Frappuccino, please.”

My day was made.

I sat at my desk and happily slurped away at my drink savoring it and making sure not to drink it too fast.

I didn’t drink all of it, and didn’t touch any of the whipped cream on top.

Then it started happening.

My heart started beating hard and fast.

I started to feel shaky and weak. 

I thought here we go…

I’m going to have another panic attack.

But I didn’t.  I stayed calm and eventually… a long eventually it passed.

I came home last night and wrote in my food journal…

Coconut Mocha frap= heart pounding, sweaty hands, shaky, weak.

I was a little sad, because I know that a coconut mocha will not be in my future.

A few days ago I told you that I was trying to switch from coffee to tea.  That lasted about 3 days.  I love my coffee.  The taste, the smell, the thought of coffee in the morning.

I’m going to keep track of how regular coffee makes me feel when I drink it.

I decided last night that I was going to figure myself out.  Along with learning how to eat for my body and learning to have a good relationship with food, I need to learn about what food triggers my anxiety so that I can stay away from those foods.

I’m keeping a journal of the food I eat, the drinks I drink, how I feel after eating… it’s time for me to stop playing around and figure out what is best for me.

This mornings breakfast is

tuesday 001

Blueberry muffin, and Yoplait smoothie.

It’s a good way to start off the day.

How did you start off you day this morning?

Is there a food that you love, but you had to give up for your health?

3 Responses to “Bye bye Frappe”

  1. Laura Says:

    I’m pretty lucky in that there’s no food I HAVE to give up… just a lot of foods that I SHOULD, haha.

  2. Tina Says:

    And all this time, I thought my heart pitter-pattered over my love of coffee–not from caffeine sensitivity! 😉

    I think Starbucks makes decaf versions of the Frappucinos so you may not have to give it up. I’ve definitely decreased my caffeine consumption–currently due to pregnancy, but I had done in earlier (March 2010, maybe?) because I thought it was burning out my adrenal system and resulting in slower weight loss. Quitting it wasn’t so bad. I had decaf instead, because I still love the taste and just that simple tradition of a morning cup of hot coffee–or an iced coffee on a hot afternoon.

    Aside from that, I only ever had to give up cantaloupe, which was my favorite fruit until I learned I was actually highly sensitive to it.

    • kristisn Says:

      Thanks… I’ll have to look into the decaf kind. But for now I’m trying all their other coconut creme frappe… with no caffeine. I’m just on a coconut kick right now.
      I have so many flavors of coffee in my pantry that will call my name if I try to quit. Maybe when I get through those I’ll switch to decaf.


Leave a Reply

