I’ve got the secret

I’ve got the secret to feeling refreshed in the morning…

Get 10 hours of sleep!

Hahaha.  I don’t get that kind of sleep that often, but last night I was just tuckered out.  I ended up going to sleep about 9 and getting up at 7.  I felt good when I woke up.  I had been feeling so tired the past few days, and I hated that feeling.  I hate feeling like I have no energy.  I guess what I have figured out is that I need sleep.  I am not one of those people that can get by on 4, 5, or 6 hours of sleep.  I need more like 7,8, 9, or 10.  So on the days that I am able to get that much… I’ll be going to sleep before the sun goes down. Winking smile

Breakfast this morning was delicious.  I had oatmeal with 1 oz. walnuts, a tbsp. of white chocolate chips and just a pinch of shredded coconut.

thursday 001

Oatmeal is good to lower cholesterol because it contains soluble fiber, which reduces the “bad” cholesterol.  According to the Mayo Clinic soluble fiber can reduce the absorption of cholesterol into your blood stream.

Walnuts are another good way to reduce cholesterol.  According to the FDA eating about a handful (1.5 oz.) may reduce your risk of heart disease.    Walnuts are also good to help fight off depression.  Score! 2 for 1.

My white chocolate chip and coconut are just added bonus because they taste so good together.

Exercise!

Today I did the Get Ripped DVD.  This one is different than the Ripped in 1,000 because the Ripped in 1,000 incorporates cardio into the mix.  Get Ripped is just weights and legs.  My arms and legs were shaking during this DVD.  It felt so good to work my muscles and to feel the burn.  I love the Ripped in 1,000 DVD, but I think I will be switching to the Get Ripped DVD  on my strength days.  Since I was slacking the past two days on my exercising I hopped on the treadmill and walked for 30 minutes while watching a DVR episode of The Real Housewives of New York.  I got to say that making myself walk to watch a show is great motivation.  It felt good to get my exercising done.

Question:  Does anyone know a good yoga DVD?  I want one of my days to be a rest day, but on the day I really want a low key DVD that stretches me out and relaxes me.  Anyone have any suggestions?

After working out I made myself a little snack.  I had garlic hummus and added some hot sauce to it.  OMG… that stuff is good.

thursday 002

I paired it up with Food Should Taste Good Multigrain tortilla chips.  Heaven!  If you like hot sauce you’ll love this hummus combo.

I did get a few things done on my to do list, but do you know which one keeps getting put on my to do list and never getting crossed off.  Scrub the floors!  For whatever reason I am dreading that chore.  I know it won’t take me that long if I would just do it, but the thought of moving everything, sweeping, scrubbing, moving everything back… Yawn.  One of these days I’ll just do it and then think to myself “Now that wasn’t so bad”.

Is there any chore that you dread?

Lunch… lunch delicious.  It’s probably going to be better than dinner.. whatever that may be.

thursday 003

Last night Justine, myself, and my guy went to a local seafood place.  There food is always so good.  I got broiled tilapia, a baked potato and a house salad.  It was so good, and so filling.  I had to take a piece of the tilapia and some of the baked potato home… which brings me to lunch.  I grilled an ear of corn and had leftovers for lunch.  Yum!

It’s only mid- day, but I got to say so far it’s been a day filled with great eats! 

I hope the rest of the day stays so good Smile

5 Responses to “I’ve got the secret”

  1. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    Wow, you must have needed that sleep!! I know it definitely felt good, too.

    I’m the same way with chores. I’ll put it off so long and then think to myself “I could have already been done by now.” and they usually don’t end up being so bad. There’s not a chore I actually dislike, though…I’ll just put them all off.

  2. Laura Says:

    10 hours of sleep? I’m in awe. I struggle to get 8!

    • kristisn Says:

      I guess I just came to the realization that I need as much sleep as I can get. It’s easy on school nights because I can put Justine to sleep and then go to bed myself.

  3. Jackie @ Baking Charms Says:

    girl u won my TJ’s giveaway!


Leave a Reply

