like any other day

Today is like any other day for me.

It’s not my Friday, it’s actually my Monday at work.

I don’t have a three day weekend.  My job is a 365 day a week job.  You don’t get holidays off unless it falls on your day off, or you take it off.

I don’t have any big Memorial Day plans, since… I have to work.

Though I wasn’t looking forward to today like everyone else was.  I still wanted to feel like it was a “Friday night”.

For dinner I made one of the best pizzas I ever made.  I started off with brushing the crust with olive oil and then mincing garlic.  I spread it evenly around the crust before topping it with onion and tomato.  I had a little bit of the barbecue chicken left so I threw that on there.  A little spinach and mozzarella… omg.  I’m going to pat myself on the back and say good job.

friday 001

Ready to cook.

friday 004

Nice and bubbly.

friday 006

Ready to eat with a glass Cabernet Franc.

It was love at first bite.  Red heart

While the pizza was cooking I thought I would prepare breakfast for in the morning.

I had bought this pancake mix at World Market

friday 002

and thought it would be perfect for tomorrow’s breakfast.  I through a little protein powder in the mix to make it a little more filling.  I’ve seen protein pancakes throughout the blogosphere and thought they looked fantastic.  Next time I’ll make mine from scratch.

friday 003

 

friday 005

That’s enough to get me by for a few days.

After I had finished my pizza and made my pancake I really wanted something…. good.  Dessert good that is.  I went through all of my recipes and found Jessica’s Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookie Bowls.  Don’t tell Jessica but I subbed the 1 stick of butter for 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 cup applesauce.  I also used three different kinds of chips.  The recipe calls for 3/4 chocolate chips, but I used 1/4 milk chocolate, 1/4 white chocolate, and 1/4 butterscotch.

friday 007

 

Making this meant I got to use my ramekins for the first time!

friday 008

Now I’m off to enjoy my dessert.

friday 009

 

Make me jealous… What are your memorial day plans???

9 Responses to “like any other day”

  1. Laura Says:

    Butterscotch chips are the greatest things in the ENTIRE WORLD! I love mixing different baking chips in a recipe… my family is always on my case for getting too carried away, haha. I saw a recipe once that used white, milk, semi-sweet, dark and butterscotch… heaven.

    • kristisn Says:

      I have a recipe for these things..nut goody bar. It’s made with butterscotch and chocolate. That stuff is so good. I’ll have to make it one day and send you some 🙂

  2. Tessa @ Amazing Asset Says:

    Goodness that pizza looks good. Pizza has been a “fear” food of mine for quite some time and I am very much looking forward to breaking through this fear with a big hunk of thin crust, great tasting pizza 🙂

    • kristisn Says:

      I think that pizzas that are just brushed with a little olive oil are a better than the one with pizza sauce. I also like to just put little pieces of cheese on it and not have the whole thing covered by cheese.

  3. workingmomworksout Says:

    Wow, you were busy!! Stinks you have to work.

    I’m running a 5K on Memorial Day!

  4. Jenny @ Fitness Health and Food Says:

    oh my goodness, those cookie bowls look fantastic! soo yummy! 🙂

    I totally understand how frustrating it can be to see everyones holiday plans we you are working over the weekend. I worked weekends, holidays (tgiving xmas eve xmas new years etc) for many years and just got tired of everyone sharing their plans! sighh

    Looks like you’ve cooked up some awesome food and I do hope that your work week goes well!

    I really need a to make some cookie bowls! 🙂

    • kristisn Says:

      Those cookie bowls were so good. I think they were even better the next day.

      Good thing I sent one home with my Mom and Dad yesterday 🙂

      I work all holidays, too… Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year’s. Every couple years I actually get those days off.

  5. Jenn@slim-shoppin Says:

    Your pizza looks amazing! Great job Kristi! So sorry you have to work this weekend.

    I used to work at a hotel in my early 20’s and had to work on Christmas, Easter, New Years Eve and it sucked! I feel your pain.


Leave a Reply

