Today I was scared

Today I was scared.

I woke up a little earlier so that I could start my day out with some yoga.  I wanted to see if it would help with my daily anxiety and to calm my fears about what I was going to do today.

I had my breakfast.

wed 001

Sweet Whole Wheat Pancakes topped with a little peanut butter and agave syrup.  This was my first time using agave as syrup and it was good.  I’ll be sticking with that from now on.  The juice was a mixture of pineapple, carrots, and strawberries.  I love having a juicer for when produce is getting ready to go bad.  You can throw it all in there and have a fabulous tasting juice.

I dropped Justine off at school.

And then it was time.

Today was going to be the first day that I was going to run outside.

I have been running on a treadmill in the comfort of my own home.  Where if I fail, no one will see me. 

If I feel like I can’t do it anymore, I can quit.

My thoughts before running outside:

1) What if I can’t do it?

2) What if I have to walk?

3) What if people see me walking?

4) What if I fail and never want to run outside again?

My thoughts while I was running:

1) It’s 82 degrees outside.

2) There are A LOT of hills in my parent’s neighborhood.

3) Running outside is a lot harder than running on a treadmill.

4) My feet feel like lead.

5) I don’t care what people think I am pushing myself as hard as I can.

In the end I ran 2.5 miles in 37 minutes.  It’s not the 10, 9, or even 8 minute miles that people run, but it was the best for me today.

It took me about that amount of time to get my heart rate back to normal.

wed 003

 

Do you see what I see???? 689 calories my friend.  Between the run and my 20 minute walking cool down I burned 689 calories.  I’m floored.

I ended up running on the flat surfaces and walking up hills.  They were killer.

The one good thing about running outside is that you just can’t quit.  You always have to get yourself back to where you started.

I finally have something to work towards.  I can work towards beating that time and improving my run. 

I’m excited.

And finally some questions for you runners out there….

1) While I was running my heart rate got between 180-190.  I thought that was a little high so I decided to walk for a few minutes to get it down a little.  Is that a high heart rate for working out at your max?

2) While I was running I was feeling a lot of pressure in the front of my head… does that happen to anyone else?

10 Responses to “Today I was scared”

  1. Laura @ Meet Virginia Says:

    Way to go Kristi! So proud of you, girl! 🙂
    There is a formula that you can use to figure out your target heart rate zone. The formula is a little bit complicated and requires a few days of finding your average resting heart rate before you get out of bed in the morning. Here is a pretty good website that explains how to do it:

    http://www.wikihow.com/Calculate-Your-Target-Heart-Rate

    When running, mine is almost always over my max. I try to slow down my pace a little to get it back down, but I know that it means I need to build up my cardiovascular endurance.

    • kristisn Says:

      Thanks Laura! I’m definitely going to use the site you gave me. I actually have a blood pressure cuff at home that tells your heart rate so I’ll have to take it in the morning for a few days.

  2. Jill Says:

    That’s so great. I have been trying to get up the courage to run outside for a couple weeks. I am hoping when I finally do it my exprerience will be as good as yours.

    • kristisn Says:

      I imagine the way I felt today was how most people feel when it comes to a race. I just had to remember that what I’m doing I’m sure won’t matter to anyone else. I have to run for me, no one else.

  3. Caitlin @ Southern Curls & Pearls Says:

    Congrats!! You burned a lot of energy on your run 🙂 It feels so great to accomplish something like that! I ran outside the other day and my heart rate got up to 195.. that does seem really high but I don’t think it’s unusual because it’s so dern HOT outside! I think you were smart to start walking afterwards, though!

  4. Laura Says:

    I get nervous if my heart rate goes above 170. Though it does on a pretty regular basis… in any case YOU ARE AMAZING! Congratulations are not enough… good for you for getting outside and giving it a shot. I can’t wait to follow along as you go!!

  5. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    Isn’t it cool to see those calories burnt?! I love it!!

    As for the heart rate, 180 is generally the high-limit but it depends from person to person. I have gotten my HR into the high 190s before runnig hills, but am sure not to keep it there for very long if I can help it, a few seconds at max. I usually try to keep it around the mind 170s..anything about that and I take a walking break.

  6. Khara Says:

    I’m proud of you! And yes, that HR is high. Here’s a link to the Mayo Clinic website that has a simple calculator for target heart rate. All you have to do is put in your age http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/target-heart-rate/SM00083

  7. The Ginger Wife Says:

    what a great feeling! mine sometimes gets too high too, so I’ll just slow it done till I feel a little more comfortable and then start to push the pace up (a little) until it feels just right.

    listen to your body! you are it’s own best advocate.


Leave a Reply

