The Benefits

Yesterday wasn’t my first time ever running, but it was the first time that I felt the benefits of how running makes someone feel.

I realized yesterday why people fall in love with running.

Yesterday after I ran, I had so much energy.  I wasn’t walking around my house feeling lethargic all day.  Another thing that helped was that I planned out my day.  Hour by hour there was something I was supposed to be doing.  Cleaning, prepping food for dinner, knitting… I wanted it to be a mix of things that I wanted to do and things I needed to do.

Running kept my anxiety at bay for the day.  My anxiety has been really bad lately.  To the point where I have to take an extra med to help calm me down.  That would bring my medication taking to 5 a day.  After running yesterday I didn’t have to take the as needed pill at all.

Running made me want to eat good the rest of the day.

lunch 001

Lunch was a salad with corn, black beans, onions, crushed tortilla chips and bbq ranch dressing.  It was fantastic.  I love mexi-salads as I like to call them Smile

Even when my plans got changed and I ended up having to take my great grandma dinner that evening I didn’t want any greasy fast food. I picked up Chick-fil-a for myself, my great grandma and Justine.  I ended up getting a chargrilled chicken salad. 

I don’t want to call myself a runner.

I don’t want it to seem that I know what I’m talking about.

I just want to point out the things that I noticed yesterday.  I think maybe this was the first time that I actually took the time to think about the after affects and not just look at running as exercise.

I know there will be days that I hate running.

There will be days when I will not want to run.

Right now I am feeling good, and I want to embrace that feeling and hold onto it as long as I can.

This morning I wasn’t able to go running in my parent’s neighborhood since I had a guy coming to fix my window.  I walked outside to take Justine to school and was disappointed.  The weather was beautiful.  All I wanted to do was get another morning run in.  Instead I opted for the treadmill.  I had a good workout.  I alternated five minutes of running and 3 minutes of walking for 50 minutes.  Sweat was pouring off me and I loved it.

Alright I’m off to finish getting my list of to- do’s done before work. 

Have a great day!

 

11 Responses to “The Benefits”

  1. Tessa at Amazing Asset Says:

    Yes, what a fabulous thing to hear! Call yourself a runner if you want to lady, you certainly have the right. I am so glad to hear you are feeling the amazing benefits of a simply great run 🙂

  2. Lori Says:

    I feel the same way with running. Not ready to call myself a runner, but days that I start out running it keeps me motivated, moving & happy all day! I definitely find myself on plan more when I run.

    One thing I find, if I start out running I’ll almost self sabatoge myself, (I’m not a runner, I can’t do this, etc.) but then I talk myself though it & in no time there’s no stopping me.

    Keep it up!

  3. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    It’s amazing what running can do for us!! I used to hate it until I realized the same thing. And then once I started running distance and hit the runner’s high for the first time, the love sprouted all over again. It’s awesome. 🙂

  4. Laura Says:

    If it helps, I’ve been running for almost 10 years now and I still feel like a dork calling myself a runner! I’m so happy to hear you’re falling in love with it though! Just remember that a GREAT run will make you forget you ever went for a crappy one…

    • kristisn Says:

      Wow… I had no idea you had been running for ten years. That’s amazing. I actually ran cross country in high school, but that feels like years ago.

  5. Alina Says:

    I think the how-it-makes-you-feel benefits of exercise, once you start experiencing them, are what makes exercise addictive (in a good way). It’s a healthy way to deal with anxiety and frustration for sure, and it gives you some time to yourself to think things through as well. I am glad you felt that today!

    • kristisn Says:

      I can definitely feel myself getting addicted to how good I feel after exercising. To feel good through out the whole day and to have energy. There’s not a better feeling.

  6. Khara Says:

    That salad looks and sounds delicious! So glad to hear you have enjoyed a few runs now 🙂

  7. Kat Says:

    Just remember – even if you hate a run, you’ll never regret it once you’re done!


Leave a Reply

