Fingers crossed

Today is my day off, but work has been popping into my mind. 

There are a few changes going on at work.  One of them I told my boss I’m interested in.  I’m praying that it works out.  It would be so good for me and Justine.  I’m trying to not allow myself to get too excited since it’s a 50/50 shot, but I still have gotten my hopes up just a little.  I’ll let you know if and when it happens.  Oh, please let it happen.

I got up this morning and did my Get Ripped DVD.  I’m trying to keep my strength training for Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday. 

On Monday, Wednesday, Friday, and Sunday I usually do some form of cardio.  I always try to do a little more than just those things, but at the minimum I want to do what I have set up for the day.

This morning was my first run outside since Friday.  The weekend was hectic with work.  I got off Friday night at 10:30 and then had to be back at work at 6:30 Saturday morning.  Needless to say the rest of the weekend was me working or resting.

I hate to admit it, but my run this morning was hard.  My legs felt like lead.  My calves felt tight.  Even my foot was hurting a little bit.  With every step I took I would tell myself.  You can turn around.  It’s just not your day today.  You can try again tomorrow.  Make a u-turn and head back to where you started.  And with each step I refused to give up.  I will make it the whole run.  I will not give up.

I took more walk breaks than I wanted to, but in the end I was only a minute off of my first run.  Not too bad when you consider I walked every few minutes.

After getting home I wanted to watch The Real Housewives of Orange County since Sunday night was the season finale.  I told myself I could, but I had to walk on the treadmill.  So I hopped on the treadmill and walked while I watched.  Then I did a few minutes of yoga to cool down.

By this time I was starving.  I had talked work stuff during my snack time and didn’t even realize it until I was on the treadmill feeling a little hungry.

For lunch I made myself a salad with tomatoes, Perdue shortcut chicken strips and Food Should Taste Good Cheddar tortilla chips.

tuesday 003

tuesday 004

 

tuesday 005

They were good as a salad topper, but I don’t think I would eat them plain, like a chip.  The cheddar flavor didn’t really appeal to me that well.  I’m going to stick with the Multigrain, or Everything, or Chocolate flavor. 

For lunch dessert I had a piece of the peanut butter banana bread that I made the other day.

tuesday 006

 

It hit the spot.

I’m off to get Justine from school.  We are going to go to the pool in my parent’s neighborhood to get a little sun time.  I can’t think of a better way to spend a hot afternoon!

2 Responses to “Fingers crossed”

  1. atastelife Says:

    I have the cheddar chips waiting for me to try them – but I’m liking the “salad” topper idea…maybe even taco salad?!?!


Leave a Reply

