What really matters

I’m reading a book, The Girls from Ames, and though I’m not ready to review it just yet… it has got me thinking.

The book is about a group of girl’s from Ames, Iowa who have sustained a 40 year friendship.

It’s a book about how a friendship has survived all the trials and tribulations of life.  One of the ladies in the book, Jane, said that the friendship has lasted all this time because they lived far enough away that they never felt like they were in competition with one another.

It got me thinking about growing older.

I’m 30.

I’ll never again be in my 20’s.

I’ll never have the chance to relive those years.

I don’t want to look back at life and that about what I should’ve done.

I should’ve stayed in college.

I should’ve saved more money when I had the opportunity.

I should’ve lost my weight a long time ago.

I should’ve passed on that extra donut.

There are so many things I should’ve, would’ve, could’ve, but you know what.  I didn’t.

When I’m 40 looking back on my 30’s I don’t want to look back on a bunch of regrets.

I want to know that I enjoyed life and the decisions I made.

As long as I’m healthy,

As long as I have good people in my life,

As long as I’m happy,

nothing else should matter.

This book is making me see what really matters in life.  It’s not how much I weigh, what size clothes I wear, how many people think I’m pretty….

It’s about the relationships I form.

I want to be the best mother,

the best friend,

the best daughter,

the best sister…

those are the things that matter.

And those things have nothing to do with what I eat, what I weigh, or what I look like.

It’s time for me to stop focusing on the outer me, and start focusing on the inner me.

5 Responses to “What really matters”

  1. Katie Says:

    Awwwww ! U should girl! Life is too short! U are a beautiful person inside and out! Don’t ever have regrets! live each day to the fullest! U have a lot to be thankful for!!

    Yes the Wendy’ berry chix salad is really good!!!

    xoxo ❤

  2. Tessa at Amazing Asset Says:

    This is such a great post. That is something I need to remind myself of as well, to enjoy and treasure the things that make my life special- family, friends, memories, relationships- as opposed to purely physical things. Eating, your appearance, your weight, are not everything and like you said, you don’t want these aspects to be most of your memories. I am going to come back to this post when I need a reminder as well! Thank you for this 🙂

    • kristisn Says:

      Thank you! I’m glad it means something for you. I don’t want to look back and see that all my memories were of me unhappy cause of my weight. It’s something that I can work on… losing weight, but it doesn’t have to be my life.

  3. Laura Says:

    I feel the same way… I think I made the best decisions I could, given my circumstances, so don’t have regrets as much as I do feelings of “why did I waste so much time worrying about that?!” And “that” could be boys, money, weight, food, friends, family, fitness, etc . for anyone. Going forward, I want to think less and do more!!


Leave a Reply

