A little ramble and a giveaway!!!

I forgot about Justine having two more half days of school left.  That means I have two more days to get my run outside in, before it becomes a little inconvenient and I’ll probably end up running on the treadmill.

We finally did get a little bit of rain on Saturday which helped some.  I think I wouldn’t mind if it rained for a week straight.  I love a good thunderstorm and some pouring rain.  Especially if I get to stay inside the whole day.  Do you like thunderstorms?

I’ve been debating something for a while now.  I need to lose weight…. around 50 lbs.  I haven’t weighed myself in months, so I’m not really exactly sure.  It was nice not stressing over those numbers everyday.  Not being disappointed when the numbers went up, but getting excited when the numbers went down.  Feeling frustrated when I was working hard, but the numbers were staying the same.  It was a liberating feeling at times.  For once I wasn’t obsessed with weighing myself constantly.

I stopped tracking my food.  I started eating what I wanted to when I was hungry.  I didn’t know the calories I was eating, but for the most part I was eating healthier.  I’m not going out to eat as much as I had been before.  I was picking fruits and yogurt for snacks.  I was listening to myself, what I wanted to eat and not being tied down to a pen and paper all the time.  I still measured out my foods for portion control, but I wasn’t constantly writing down the calories, the amount, the time… 

I exercised.  I kept track of the calories burned just for my own satisfaction.  Seeing those numbers at the end of the workout make me feel good.  It makes me see that I pushed myself.  It makes me feel accomplished.  It makes the sweat pouring off of me worth it.

Have I lost any weight during this time?  I don’t know.  Maybe a few pounds, but not enough for my pants to tell the difference.

I think what I’m doing is good if I was at my goal weight, but until I get there I need to go back to what I was doing before.  I think I need to track my food so I know what is going in and what is going out.  I need to see that the calories burned are what they need to be.  I need to start weighing myself so I know if what I’m doing is working.  I need to get dedicated.  I need to put the time in.  I need to track my food.

So tell me… what do you think?  Should I continue the way I’ve been going and not track or weigh and enjoy life without all the restrictions or should I track and exercise… weigh myself and have the numbers tell me how I’m doing?

And since you listened to me ramble today I thought it would be the perfect time for a giveaway!

thursday 005

The other day I mentioned that I found these cupcake books while I was on a mission to find pink tights.  I picked up one for me and one for you.

Here’s how to enter:

1) Answer my question from the post… to track or not to track?

2) Blog about the giveaway

3) And if you’d like to follow me on twitter @1521kristi

This giveaway will run until June 16th. 

13 Responses to “A little ramble and a giveaway!!!”

  1. Cynthia Says:

    I used to track calories all the time and weigh myself constantly. I haven’t done that in a while and I feel so much better. I think that I am going to start weighing myself about once a month, just so I can make sure I am on the right track for weight loss. But as for tracking calories, I think you are better off doing what you have been doing. Listen to your body, exercise, eat healthier and it will all come together.

  2. Tessa at Amazing Asset Says:

    This is a very personal choice of course but I would personally track. However, that is my controlling, somewhat disordered brain talking and my compulsive need to know how much I am eating. I get so nervous if I don’t track and do it at a subconscious level now… it seems I can’t help it! If you truly believe it will help to hold you accountable and aid in your weight loss, I would say track. But, if you start to become a slave to the numbers, then stop!
    A book on cupcakes? Yes please 🙂

  3. Laura Says:

    Maybe when you were tracking before, the healthy choices felt forced… like, you had to choose fruits and veggies and yogurt in order for your tracking sheet to look the way you wanted it to? But maybe now that you’ve spent some time making the transition to healthier choices on your own, because you want to, the tracking will feel like less of a chore and more of a reflection of how far you’ve come?

    I’m not sure if I’m saying it in a way that makes sense! But I don’t think there’s any harm in trying it for a week to see how it goes. If you find yourself slipping back into a negative mindset, you can always toss the tracker again. And bake cupcakes 🙂

  4. Laura @ Meet Virginia Says:

    Hm, tough decision! Like Tessa said above, this is a very personal choice. With that in mind, for me personally, I am a very numbers minded person. Keeping track of my food and exercise and resulting weight helps me see how I am doing. Here’s a post on this subject that I thought was good in a tough love kinda way. (http://www.runningoffthereeses.com/2011/06/scales-dont-lie.html) Just do whatever works for you, girl!

    And cupcakes?! You know I’m in! 😀

  5. Laura @ Meet Virginia Says:

    Oh, and I follow you on Twitter!

  6. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    I track for the sake of being sure to eat enough so I don’t lose weight. I exercise a lot and I know that if I didn’t track, I’d end up below my calorie needs daily and end up losing weight again. But really, it’s great you’ve chosen not to! It goes from person to person..and it just works for me.

  7. Mary @ Bites and Bliss Says:

    I’m already following you on Twitter! @bitesandbliss

  8. Alissa Says:

    I think tracking would be a good idea. It will help you get to your goal and once you’re there you can do the intuitive eating thing. 🙂

  9. Alissa Says:

    I follow you on Twitter- @Ajourneytothin

  10. Last Day of School « eatdrinkloveandexercisedotcom Says:

    […] Don’t forget to enter my giveaway here! […]

  11. Jill Says:

    I think if you really want to lose the 50 pounds than track for now. You are obviously great at maintaning so you can get back to that as soon as you get to your goal weight! I would love the book, I have 4 kids so I am constantly making cupcakes!!

  12. Easy- Peasy « eatdrinkloveandexercisedotcom Says:

    […] forget to enter my giveaway here… it’s your last […]

  13. Winner « eatdrinkloveandexercisedotcom Says:

    […] Alissa Says: June 13, 2011 at 6:24 pm […]


Leave a Reply

