To track or not to track

I came to all of you with the question to track or not to track.

I know that it’s a personal a decision, and it is something that I need to decide on my own.

Deep down I knew that I needed to track my foods.  I need to make sure that I was taking in the amount of calories that I need to lose the weight that I want to lose. 

Deep down I hoped that I could learn to eat right and exercise and the weight would magically start to disappear, but as I can see, that isn’t the way for me to succeed in my weight loss journey.

I think that I needed to take a break.  I needed that time not to track every morsel that went into my mouth.  To measure out my food.  I felt like I was being controlled by tracking.  That my day would be ruined if I ate something that I didn’t know the calories for.  I was constantly looking up, adding up, subtracting numbers.  It felt like homework.. a job.

And when something like eating starts to feel like a job, you know you need to make some changes.

I want to thank everyone who entered my cupcake giveaway and who commented on whether I should track my food or I shouldn’t.

I love being able to come to all of you and ask your opinion on the matter, and I know that you all will give me your honest opinion.

I decided that I was going to start tracking my food.  I know that is a tool that I need to use to get the results I am looking for.

Losing weigh is all about the numbers.

The number of calories you eat.

The number of calories you burn.

 

The numbers that are on the scale.

 

I know that I am overweight. 

 

I know that I have a lot of work that I need to do.

 

And I know that one day I will be able to eat intuitively, but I’m not at that place yet. 

 

I need to lose the weight, and then I can learn how to maintain.

 

I can then learn to trust my body.

3 Responses to “To track or not to track”

  1. Caitlin @ Southern Curls & Pearls Says:

    You’re so right… eating should never feel like a job. Unfortunately, it often does to me, too. Tracking calories takes up so much time and mental energy but I guess in the end, you do see results when you stick to this method. Good luck!!

  2. workingmomworksout Says:

    Tracking was what allowed me to lose 60 lbs. And I still track maybe one day a month just to keep myself in check. But I haven’t tracked full-time in a long time. I’m within 10 lbs of my goal weight and if my body doesn’t want to come off those last few pounds, well that’s just part of life. I agree that it can feel like a job, but it worked for me.

  3. Sabrina Says:

    Tracking is simply a tool. Sometimes it’s the right tool, sometimes it is not. I haven’t been tracking my food in a few months, but I am making much healthier decisions. I am confident that once I can start working out again my healthy choices will begin to pay off. It certainly is a balancing act. Good Luck, my friend! 🙂


Leave a Reply

