Vacation

I used to think of vacation as a free for all.

Eat whatever you want.

Drink whatever you want.

Do whatever you want.

It was where all of the eating right pressure went out the window.

I was on vacation and it didn’t matter.

I still think vacation is a time for you to let loose.

It’s your time to relax and leave the pressures of everyday life behind.

This vacation I’m going to do things a little different.

I packed a few snacks, that may not be exactly healthy, but it’s not the junk that I used to pack.

running 001

 

I’m also packing these

running 002

Because I know most hotels have gyms and I can set aside at least 30 minutes in the morning to get my a little run in.

I’m going to take a break from the every day stresses of life, but I’m not going to take a break from my health.

How do you treat vacation a free for all or stay on track?

5 Responses to “Vacation”

  1. Lori Says:

    I still can’t get the vacation free for all out of my head when I go.
    It’s probably one of my biggest hurdles I need to overcome.

    You’re on the right track! Planning is #1!

    Have fun!

  2. Alissa Says:

    I love that you are planning ahead. Planning ahead = success! Vacation is about relaxing and letting go- but you know you’ll feel so much better if you’re able to relax and get good workouts in and eat healthy everyday. 🙂

  3. Tessa at Amazing Asset Says:

    I’m glad you posted this! It will be a great reminder to you if you feel like you want to just say “the hell with it” while you are on vacation. I think it’s important to find a healthy balance between not going nuts on food and drinks, but also not depriving yourself and therefore missing the whole point of a relaxing vacation.
    I hope you have a great time!

  4. Laura Says:

    I learned the vacation lesson the hard way for sure 🙂 Now I always make sure to pack my runners! I think walking a lot and taking the time to go for a few short runs is key… something is better than nothing right?!

  5. krisgetshealthy Says:

    It’s funny how our lives shift as we get healthy. When I went away to visit my parents I struggled more with packing than ever before in my life. The first things into my bag were my running shoes and workout clothes. A swimsuit and a bag of healthy snacks. From there it was a struggle to know what to pack.
    Staying active on vacation is my key to staying on track. Evrything in moderation, when you are someplace special there is no reason to deny yourself a taste of local flair!


Leave a Reply

